eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » United Kingdom » Religions and society » Religions and schooling

Religions and schooling

Different legal frameworks

The relationship between religion and education varies in the different constituent parts of the UK. The legal framework for schools is very similar in England and Wales, although education in (...)

The relationship between religion and education varies in the different constituent parts of the UK. The legal framework for schools is very similar in England and Wales, although education in Wales has become the responsibility of the devolved National Assembly. Scotland and Northern Ireland are considered separately below.

D 11 September 2012    ADavid Voas

Religiously based schools in England and Wales

When education became a state function, the schools operated by the Church of England were incorporated into the system under the terms of the 1902 Education Act. The structure has been revised (...)

When education became a state function, the schools operated by the Church of England were incorporated into the system under the terms of the 1902 Education Act. The structure has been revised by subsequent legislation, in particular the 1998 School Standards and Framework Act.
Some 5,000 schools are currently linked to the Church of England and the Church in Wales. Nearly a quarter of primary schools in the country are Anglican, as are about 6% of secondary schools. Because most church schools were established many decades ago, there are fewer in suburban areas than elsewhere.
The Catholic Church is also a major operator of schools, serving almost 10% of the total school population. Some Catholic schools are independent, but most – more than 1800 primary and close to 400 secondary schools – receive state funding. The state also supports some Methodist schools and about 70 associated with non-Christian religious groups; 42 of these are Jewish (see below).
State-supported denominational schools are allowed different levels of autonomy depending on whether they are ‘voluntary aided’ or ‘voluntary controlled’ schools. The religious organisation retains some financial responsibility for ‘voluntary aided’ schools. The school governors (the majority of whom are nominated by the church) decide whom to employ, which students to admit, and what kind of religious instruction and observance will be required. With ‘voluntary controlled’ schools, by contrast, the Local Authority employs the staff, has responsibility for admissions, and determines the content of the religious education syllabus.
In addition to these publicly funded schools, there are a substantial number of independent schools established or operated by religious groups. In 2011 there were 1010 independent faith schools educating approximately 305,776 pupils. Of those, 821 have a Christian ethos or are inter-denominational, 139 are Muslim and 46 are Jewish. There are moves to bring more faith-based schools into the state sector, though the topic is politically controversial.

D 11 September 2012    ADavid Voas

Religious education and collective worship in England and Wales

The 1944 Education Act made religious instruction mandatory in schools in England and Wales, although parents may withdraw their children from these classes. The initial emphasis on ‘religious (...)

The 1944 Education Act made religious instruction mandatory in schools in England and Wales, although parents may withdraw their children from these classes. The initial emphasis on ‘religious instruction’ has however given way to ‘religious education’, in which children are taught about religion rather than trained to be religious. The syllabi are organised at local level, but the 1988 Education Reform Act required that any new Religious Education syllabus must ‘reflect the fact that the religious traditions in Great Britain are in the main Christian whilst taking account of the teaching and practices of the other principal religions represented in Great Britain.’ Exactly what this provision means is open to debate.

Voluntary aided schools do not have to offer instruction on other religious traditions, but many of these schools did so anyway and in February 2006 the churches agreed that all schools should teach their pupils about other religions.
Standing Advisory Councils for Religious Education (SACREs) have a statutory responsibility to monitor state religious education in their area. Local religious bodies are represented on these councils, as are teachers and local authorities.

In addition to religious education, state supported schools in England and Wales are required to organise daily acts of ‘collective worship’, the majority of which should be ‘wholly or mainly of a broadly Christian character’. Parents may withdraw their children if they wish. Local authorities may approve alternative arrangements, for example where most pupils are non-Christian. In practice the need to respect different faiths and the preferences of the non-religious – not least among the teaching staff – has meant that many schools make little effort to give these ‘acts’ a distinctively Christian or even religious character.

D 11 September 2012    ADavid Voas

Religion and education in Scotland

The 1872 Education Act made the state responsible for education in Scotland, with the Church of Scotland transferring control over its schools. Catholic schools became part of the state system (...)

The 1872 Education Act made the state responsible for education in Scotland, with the Church of Scotland transferring control over its schools. Catholic schools became part of the state system under the 1918 Education Act, so that in effect there is currently a system of state supported denominational schools. There are more than 400 Catholic schools in the public sector, as well as a number of schools established by the Scottish Episcopal Church and one Jewish primary school.

The Education (Scotland) Act 1980 requires education authorities and schools to provide both religious education and religious observance. The circular on religious observance from the Scottish Executive in 2005 stated that ‘In recognition of Scotland’s Christian heritage, schools are encouraged to use the rich resources of this tradition when planning religious observance’ – which seems a tentative endorsement of Christian worship rather than a prescription to organise it – and specified only that ‘every school should provide opportunities for religious observance at least six times in a school year’. Parents may withdraw their children, and in these cases ‘schools should make suitable arrangements for the child to participate in a worthwhile alternative activity. In no circumstances should a child be disadvantaged as a result of withdrawing from religious observance.’

D 11 September 2012    ADavid Voas

Religion and education in Northern Ireland

In Northern Ireland the majority of Protestant children attend state controlled schools, while most Catholic children attend Catholic maintained schools. The latter are owned by the Catholic (...)

In Northern Ireland the majority of Protestant children attend state controlled schools, while most Catholic children attend Catholic maintained schools. The latter are owned by the Catholic Church but operated with public financial assistance. Thus there is in effect a system of state supported separate education.
‘Integrated schools’ taking a mixture of Protestant and Catholic children have existed since 1981. There are now some 60 such schools, about two-thirds of which are primary schools. Only 6.5% of the school population attends an integrated school.
Following an official request in 1991, the four largest denominations – the Catholic, Presbyterian, Anglican and Methodist churches – prepared a core syllabus for religious education. The topics were those on which there was agreement, with additional material – whether confessional or on non-Christian religions – to be taught outside the core. It was adopted by the Department of Education for Northern Ireland in 1993.
To date few ‘controlled’ schools (mostly serving the Protestant population) have included material on other religions in the curriculum. There has been some coverage of world religions in Catholic maintained schools, at least beyond the primary level.

D 11 September 2012    ADavid Voas

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Royaume-Uni > Religion et société > Ecole et religion

Ecole et religion

Des cadres juridiques divers

Les relations entre la religion et l’éducation sont différentes dans chacune des régions constitutives du Royaume-Uni. L’éduction au pays de Galles est désormais du ressort de l’Assemblée Nationale du (...)

Les relations entre la religion et l’éducation sont différentes dans chacune des régions constitutives du Royaume-Uni. L’éduction au pays de Galles est désormais du ressort de l’Assemblée Nationale du Pays de Galles (devolved National Assembly), mais le cadre légal régissant les écoles est quasiment similaire à celui de l’Angleterre. L’Ecosse et l’Irlande du Nord feront l’objet ci-dessous d’une étude séparée.

11 septembre 2012

Ecoles religieuses en Angleterre et au pays de Galles

Lorsque l’éducation devint du ressort de l’Etat, les écoles dirigées par l’Eglise d’Angleterre furent intégrées au système selon les termes du Education Act de 1902. Cette structure a été revue par des (...)

Lorsque l’éducation devint du ressort de l’Etat, les écoles dirigées par l’Eglise d’Angleterre furent intégrées au système selon les termes du Education Act de 1902. Cette structure a été revue par des lois ultérieures, et notamment le School Standards and Framework Act de 1998.
Environ 5 000 écoles sont actuellement liées à l’Eglise d’Angleterre et à l’Eglise du pays de Galles. Près du quart des écoles primaires du pays sont anglicanes, tout comme 6% environ des établissements d’enseignement secondaire. La plupart des écoles religieuses ayant été créées il y a plusieurs décennies, elles sont moins nombreuses dans les banlieues que partout ailleurs.
L’Eglise Catholique dirige également un grand nombre d’écoles, fréquentées par près de 10% du nombre total d’élèves. Certaines écoles catholiques sont indépendantes, mais la plupart – plus de 1 800 écoles primaires et près de 400 établissements d’enseignement secondaire – sont subventionnées par l’Etat. L’Etat subventionne également quelques écoles méthodistes et environ 70 écoles liées à des groupes religieux non chrétiens ; 42 d’entre elles sont juives (voir plus bas).
Les écoles confessionnelles subventionnées par l’Etat disposent de différents niveaux d’autonomie selon si ce sont des écoles "volontairement subventionnées" (voluntary aided) ou "volontairement contrôlées" (voluntary controlled). L’organisation religieuse conserve une certaine responsabilité financière en ce qui concerne les écoles "volontairement subventionnées". Les directeurs d’établissement (dont la majorité sont nommés par l’Eglise) décident qui sera employé, quels élèves seront admis, et quel type d’enseignement et d’observances religieuses seront de rigueur. Dans le cadre des établissements "volontairement contrôlés" au contraire, les autorités locales recrutent le personnel, sont responsables des admissions et fixent le contenu du programme d’éducation religieuse.
En plus de ces écoles recevant des subventions publiques, il existe un nombre considérable d’établissements indépendants créés ou dirigés par des groupes religieux. En 2011 il y avait 1010 écoles confessionnelles indépendantes comptant environ 305.776 élèves. Parmi elles, 821 sont chrétiennes ou inter-confessionnels, 139 sont musulmanes et 46 sont juives. On tente actuellement de ramener davantage d’écoles confessionnelles dans le secteur public, bien que ce sujet fasse l’objet de controverses politiques.

11 septembre 2012

Education religieuse et religion en Angleterre et au pays de Galles

L’Education Act de 1944 a rendu obligatoire l’instruction religieuse dans les écoles d’Angleterre et du pays de Galles, bien que les parents aient la possibilité de retirer leurs enfants de ces (...)

L’Education Act de 1944 a rendu obligatoire l’instruction religieuse dans les écoles d’Angleterre et du pays de Galles, bien que les parents aient la possibilité de retirer leurs enfants de ces classes. L’accent initial mis sur "l’instruction religieuse" a toutefois ouvert la voie à "l’éducation religieuse", qui consiste à dispenser aux enfants des cours sur la religion, plutôt qu’à les former à être croyants. Les programmes sont fixés à l’échelon local, mais l’Education Reform Act de 1988 exigeait que tout nouveau programme d’éducation religieuse "rende compte du fait que les traditions religieuses en Grande-Bretagne sont dans l’ensemble chrétiennes, tout en prenant en considération l’enseignement et les pratiques des autres principales religions représentées en Grande-Bretagne". La signification exacte de cette disposition reste à définir.

Les établissements "volontairement subventionnés" ne sont pas tenus de proposer des cours sur les autres traditions religieuses, mais nombre de ces écoles ont choisi de le faire et en février 2006 les Eglises se sont mises d’accord sur l’idée que toutes les écoles devraient délivrer à leurs élèves des cours sur les autres religions.
Les Standing Advisory Councils for Religious Education (SACREs) ont la responsabilité légale de contrôler l’éducation religieuse nationale dans leur zone de compétence. Les organisations religieuses locaux sont représentées dans ces conseils, de même que les enseignants et les autorités locales.

En plus de l’éducation religieuse, les établissements scolaires subventionnés par l’Etat en Angleterre et au pays de Galles sont dans l’obligation d’organiser des manifestations quotidiennes de "culte collectif", la plupart devant être "entièrement ou majoritairement de caractère chrétien". Les parents peuvent en retirer leurs enfants, s’ils le désirent. Les autorités locales peuvent accepter des organisations différentes, par exemple dans le cas où la plupart des enfants ne seraient pas chrétiens. Dans la pratique, la nécessité de respecter les différentes confessions et les préférences des non-croyants – notamment parmi le corps enseignant – a eu pour conséquence que de nombreuses écoles font peu d’efforts pour donner à ces "manifestations" un caractère nettement chrétien ou même religieux.

11 septembre 2012

Religion et éducation en Ecosse

L’Education Act de 1872 a rendu l’Etat responsable de l’éducation en Ecosse, l’Eglise d’Ecosse lui laissant le contrôle sur ses écoles. Les écoles catholiques furent intégrées au système public par le (...)

L’Education Act de 1872 a rendu l’Etat responsable de l’éducation en Ecosse, l’Eglise d’Ecosse lui laissant le contrôle sur ses écoles. Les écoles catholiques furent intégrées au système public par le biais du Education Act de 1918, de sorte qu’il existe aujourd’hui un système d’établissements confessionnels subventionnés par l’Etat. Il y a plus de 400 écoles catholiques dans le secteur public, ainsi qu’un certain nombre d’écoles créées par l’Eglise Episcopale d’Ecosse et une école primaire juive.

L’Education (Scotland) Act de 1980 exige des autorités en charge de l’éducation et des écoles qu’elles proposent une éducation et une pratique religieuses. La circulaire relative à la pratique religieuse publiée par le Scottish Executive en 2005 déclarait "q’en reconnaissance de l’héritage chrétien de l’Ecosse, les écoles sont encouragées à utiliser les riches ressources de cette tradition lors de la mise en œuvre de la pratique religieuse" – ce qui ressemble davantage à une adhésion timide au culte chrétien qu’à une ordonnance visant à l’organiser – et précisait seulement que "chaque école devrait fournir la possibilité de se livrer à la pratique religieuse au moins six fois durant l’année scolaire". Les parents ont la possibilité de retirer leurs enfants, et dans ce cas les "écoles doivent prendre des mesures appropriées afin que l’enfant puisse prendre part à une autre activité intéressante. Un enfant ne doit en aucun cas se trouver désavantagé du fait de son retrait de la pratique religieuse".

11 septembre 2012

Religion et éducation en Irlande du Nord

En Irlande du Nord, la majorité des enfants protestants fréquentent des écoles publiques, alors que la plupart des enfants catholiques fréquentent des écoles catholiques. Ces dernières appartiennent à (...)

En Irlande du Nord, la majorité des enfants protestants fréquentent des écoles publiques, alors que la plupart des enfants catholiques fréquentent des écoles catholiques. Ces dernières appartiennent à l’Eglise Catholique mais fonctionnent grâce aux aides financières publiques. Il existe donc en réalité un système éducatif séparé, subventionné par l’Etat.
Les "écoles intégrées" (integrated schools), qui accueillent à la fois des enfants protestants et des enfants catholiques, existent depuis 1981. On compte aujourd’hui quelque 60 écoles de ce type, dont les deux tiers sont des écoles primaires. Seuls 6,5% des élèves fréquentent une "école intégrée".
Suite à une requête officielle émise en 1991, les quatre plus grandes confessions religieuses – les Eglises catholique, presbytérienne, anglicane et méthodiste – préparèrent un tronc commun pour l’éducation religieuse. Les sujets abordés sont ceux sur lesquels on parvint à un accord, et auxquels s’ajoutent des sujets supplémentaires – soit confessionnels soit relatifs à des religions non chrétiennes – devant être enseignés en dehors du tronc commun. Il fut adopté par le Department of Education d’Irlande du Nord en 1993.
A ce jour, peu d’"écoles contrôlées" (controlled schools) (principalement au service de la population protestante) ont inclus au programme des enseignements sur d’autres religions. Les écoles catholiques traitent quelque peu des religions du monde, au moins après le niveau primaire.

11 septembre 2012