eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » United Kingdom » Social and religious data » Religious geography

Religious geography

Broad patterns

The major distinction to be made in the UK is between Great Britain (now comparatively secular) and Northern Ireland (where religious commitment remains high). There are also important (...)

The major distinction to be made in the UK is between Great Britain (now comparatively secular) and Northern Ireland (where religious commitment remains high). There are also important differences between the constituent countries of Great Britain, as noted above: the predominant branch of Christianity is Anglican in England, Presbyterian in Scotland, and Nonconformist in Wales. Within each of these territories, however, the differences are modest.

The Catholic church is particularly strong in areas that received the largest number of Irish immigrants in the 19th and 20th centuries, e.g. around Liverpool and Glasgow. Some parts of the country (for example the southwest of England) have traditionally been areas of Methodist concentration, though that denomination is fading rapidly. The free presbyterian churches (that separated from the Church of Scotland) are especially important in the highlands and islands of Scotland.

Most immigrants from the former colonies live in the major urban areas such as Greater London, the West Midlands (around Birmingham), Greater Manchester, and West Yorkshire (around Leeds). The non-Christian religious groups are therefore concentrated almost entirely in cities, as are black-majority churches. In general, however, there is less religious participation in cities than in suburbs and rural areas.

Involvement in the Church of England in particular is noticeably higher (as measured by baptisms or church attendance relative to population) in rural than in urban areas. Middle class suburbs also show relatively high levels of participation, particularly for festivals such as Christmas. In Scotland, both religious identification and church attendance are lower in the east than in the west.

The major distinction to be made in the UK is between Great Britain (now comparatively secular) and Northern Ireland (where religious commitment remains high). There are also important differences between the constituent countries of Great Britain, as noted above: the predominant branch of Christianity is Anglican in England, Presbyterian in Scotland, and Nonconformist in Wales. Within each of these territories, however, the differences are modest.

The Catholic church is particularly strong in areas that received the largest number of Irish immigrants in the 19th and 20th centuries, e.g. around Liverpool and Glasgow. Some parts of the country (for example the southwest of England) have traditionally been areas of Methodist concentration, though that denomination is fading rapidly. The free presbyterian churches (that separated from the Church of Scotland) are especially important in the highlands and islands of Scotland.

Most immigrants from the former colonies live in the major urban areas such as Greater London, the West Midlands (around Birmingham), Greater Manchester, and West Yorkshire (around Leeds). The non-Christian religious groups are therefore concentrated almost entirely in cities, as are black-majority churches. In general, however, there is less religious participation in cities than in suburbs and rural areas.

Involvement in the Church of England in particular is noticeably higher (as measured by baptisms or church attendance relative to population) in rural than in urban areas. Middle class suburbs also show relatively high levels of participation, particularly for festivals such as Christmas. In Scotland, both religious identification and church attendance are lower in the east than in the west.

D 11 September 2012    ADavid Voas

Muslims

The Muslim population of Britain is concentrated in the major urban areas, particularly in London (38% of the total), Leicester, and the northwest (Greater Manchester and Blackburn). Within these (...)

The Muslim population of Britain is concentrated in the major urban areas, particularly in London (38% of the total), Leicester, and the northwest (Greater Manchester and Blackburn). Within these cities the Muslim population is typically concentrated in particular areas. In London, where Muslims contribute 8% of the population, they are found particularly in the north and east. The east London boroughs of Tower Hamlets and Newham have very large Muslim minorities (36% and 24% respectively).

In Scotland, Muslims are found mainly near Glasgow in East Renfrewshire (especially in the ward of Pollokshields East, where they are 40% of the population).

D 11 September 2012    ADavid Voas

Hindus

The majority (52%) of Hindus in Britain live in London. In the northwest London boroughs of Brent and Harrow they contribute about a fifth of the population. Significant concentrations of Hindus (...)

The majority (52%) of Hindus in Britain live in London. In the northwest London boroughs of Brent and Harrow they contribute about a fifth of the population. Significant concentrations of Hindus are also found in parts of the East and West Midlands, particularly in Leicester.

D 11 September 2012    ADavid Voas

Sikhs

The Sikh population is mainly located in and around London and the West Midlands. In the London area Sikhs are found particularly in the western boroughs of Ealing and Hounslow and in the nearby (...)

The Sikh population is mainly located in and around London and the West Midlands. In the London area Sikhs are found particularly in the western boroughs of Ealing and Hounslow and in the nearby town of Slough, though there is also a substantial population to the southeast in Gravesham, Kent. Close to a third of Sikhs in Britain live in the West Midlands, particularly Wolverhampton and Sandwell.

For further information: "British Sikh Report 2018".

D 11 September 2012    ADavid Voas

Jews

Approximately two thirds of British Jews live in or near London, with concentrations in various sections of the northwest and northeast metropolitan area. About 15% of the population in the (...)

Approximately two thirds of British Jews live in or near London, with concentrations in various sections of the northwest and northeast metropolitan area. About 15% of the population in the London Borough of Barnet is Jewish. There are also substantial Jewish communities in Greater Manchester (especially Bury), Leeds, and near Glasgow (East Renfrewshire).

See also David Graham, 2011 Census: Thinning and Thickening, December 2013
This report on the 2011 UK Census is the first to incorporate data from the censuses in Scotland and Northern Ireland into the analysis. It explores geographical change in the UK Jewish community, and demonstrates how the UK Jewish population is becoming increasingly concentrated in a small number of core geographical areas.

D 11 September 2012    ADavid Voas

Northern Ireland

People who identify themselves as being of Protestant heritage comprise 56% of the population in Northern Ireland. Those with a Catholic background make up 41%; the gap has been narrowing in (...)

People who identify themselves as being of Protestant heritage comprise 56% of the population in Northern Ireland. Those with a Catholic background make up 41%; the gap has been narrowing in recent years.

In Belfast, the capital, the two groups are of approximately equal size. Most districts in the province have a clear Protestant or Catholic majority, however. Protestants (and especially Presbyterians) are especially strong in the areas around Belfast and in the east. Catholics are particularly numerous in the west and south of Northern Ireland, where they contribute about two-thirds of the population.

D 11 September 2012    ADavid Voas

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2019 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Royaume-Uni > Données socio-religieuses > Géographie religieuse

Géographie religieuse

Les grandes lignes

Au Royaume-Uni, la principale distinction à faire est entre la Grande-Bretagne (actuellement relativement laïque) et l’Irlande du nord (où l’engagement religieux reste fort). Il existe aussi (...)

Au Royaume-Uni, la principale distinction à faire est entre la Grande-Bretagne (actuellement relativement laïque) et l’Irlande du nord (où l’engagement religieux reste fort). Il existe aussi d’importantes différences à l’intérieur des pays constituant la Grande-Bretagne, ainsi que nous l’avons expliqué plus haut : la branche chrétienne dominante en Angleterre est l’anglicanisme, en Écosse le presbytérianisme et au Pays de Galles l’Église non-conformiste. A l’intérieur de ces territoires, les différences sont par contre peu importantes.

L’Église catholique est particulièrement représentée dans les régions où se sont installés le plus grand nombre d’immigrés irlandais au XIXème et au XXème siècle, par exemple aux environs de Liverpool et de Glasgow. Certaines partie du pays (comme le sud ouest de l’Angleterre) sont traditionnellement des foyers méthodistes, bien que cette confession diminue rapidement. Les Églises presbytériennes indépendantes (qui se sont séparées de l’Église d’Écosse) sont particulièrement présentes dans les îles et les hautes terres d’Écosse.

La plupart des immigrants des anciennes colonies vivent dans les principales zones urbaines telles que le grand Londres, le West Midlands (aux alentours de Birmingham), le grand Manchester, et l’ouest du Yorkshire (aux alentours de Leeds). Les groupes de religions non chrétiennes se concentrent donc presque exclusivement dans les grandes villes tout comme les Églises de la majorité noire. La participation religieuse est pourtant moins importante dans les grandes villes que dans les banlieues et les zones rurales.

L’engagement dans l’Église d’Angleterre en particulier est remarquablement plus fort dans les zones rurales que dans les zones urbaines (selon les chiffres des baptêmes et de la fréquentation des églises, proportionnellement à la population). La participation est également assez élevée dans les banlieues de classe moyenne surtout pour les fêtes de Noël. En Écosse, la fréquentation des églises et l’identité religieuse sont toutes deux plus forte à l’ouest qu’à l’est.

11 septembre 2012

Les musulmans

La population musulmane de Grande-Bretagne se concentre dans les principales zones urbaines, en particulier à Londres (38 % de la population musulmane), Leicester et dans le nord ouest (grand (...)

La population musulmane de Grande-Bretagne se concentre dans les principales zones urbaines, en particulier à Londres (38 % de la population musulmane), Leicester et dans le nord ouest (grand Manchester et Blackburn). A l’intérieur de ces villes, les musulmans sont habituellement regroupés dans des zones précises. A Londres, où les Musulmans représentent 8 % de la population, on les trouve surtout au nord et à l’est. Les quartiers londoniens de Tower Hamlets et Newham possèdent une minorité musulmane importante (respectivement 36 et 24 %).

En Ecosse, Musulmans se trouvent principalement près de Glasgow, dans l’est du Renfrewshire (surtout dans le East Pollokshield où ils représentent 40 % de la population).

11 septembre 2012

Les hindous

La majorité des Hindous de Grande-Bretagne (52 %) vit à Londres. Dans les quartiers de Brent et de Harrows, au nord est de Londres, ils représentent près d’un cinquième de la population. On trouve (...)

La majorité des Hindous de Grande-Bretagne (52 %) vit à Londres. Dans les quartiers de Brent et de Harrows, au nord est de Londres, ils représentent près d’un cinquième de la population. On trouve également une concentration importante de population hindoue dans certaines parties d’East Midlands et de West Midlands, en particulier à Leicester.

11 septembre 2012

Les sikhs

La population sikh se concentre surtout aux alentours de Londres et dans le West Midlands. A Londres, on trouve les sikhs principalement dans les quartiers de Ealing et de Hounslow à l’est ainsi (...)

La population sikh se concentre surtout aux alentours de Londres et dans le West Midlands. A Londres, on trouve les sikhs principalement dans les quartiers de Ealing et de Hounslow à l’est ainsi que la ville voisine de Slough. Néanmoins, on trouve également une forte population sikh au sud-est à Gravesham, Kent. Près d’un tiers de la population sikh de Grande-Bretagne vit dans le West Midlands, principalement à Wolverhampton et Sandwell.

11 septembre 2012

Les juifs

Environ les deux tiers de la communauté juive vit dans ou près de Londres, concentrée dans différents quartiers du nord-ouest et du nord-est de la métropole. Environ 15 % de la population du quartier (...)

Environ les deux tiers de la communauté juive vit dans ou près de Londres, concentrée dans différents quartiers du nord-ouest et du nord-est de la métropole. Environ 15 % de la population du quartier de Barnet est juive. On trouve également des communautés juives dans le grand Manchester (surtout à Bury) et près de Glasgow (dans le East Refrewshire).

Voir aussi David Graham, 2011 Census : Thinning and Thickening, December 2013
A partir des résultats du recensement 2011, ce rapport montre que la population juive se concentre de façon croissante dans un petit nombre d’aires géographiques.

11 septembre 2012

L’irlande du Nord

Les personnes se déclarant de culture protestante constituent 56 % de la population d’Irlande du nord. Celles d’origine catholique représentent 41 %, la différence s’est réduite ces dernières années. (...)

Les personnes se déclarant de culture protestante constituent 56 % de la population d’Irlande du nord. Celles d’origine catholique représentent 41 %, la différence s’est réduite ces dernières années.

Dans la capitale, Belfast, les deux groupes sont à peu près équivalents. Cependant, la plupart des régions ont une majorité protestante ou catholique marquée. Les protestants (principalement les Presbytériens) sont très présents dans les régions autour de Belfast et dans l’est. Les Catholiques sont particulièrement nombreux dans l’ouest et dans le sud de l’Irlande du nord, où ils constituent environ les deux tiers de la population.

11 septembre 2012