eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » United Kingdom » Social and religious data » Sources of data

Sources of data

Focus on religion and non-religion

A full description of religion in the United Kingdom is available on the website of national statistics.
Information and up-to-date comments on news concerning religion in Great Britain can be (...)

A full description of religion in the United Kingdom is available on the website of national statistics.

Information and up-to-date comments on news concerning religion in Great Britain can be found on the British Religion in Numbers blog. Information concerning religious affiliation in Scotland is provided by the Scottish Government and is available here.

The think tank Theos believes that the modern world can’t be understood without understanding religion. It offers many reports which inform the debate about the place of religion in contemporary society. Ekklesia is another independent think tank which seeks to promote transformative ideas in politics, economy, society and religion. It produces a series of reports and briefings about contemporary issues religion in the UK.

Another important academic source of information about religion and current debates is The Religious Studies Project. It is an international collaborative enterprise which produces weekly podcasts with leading scholars on the social-scientific study of religion.

There is a lively debate on the rise of secularism in Great Britain, with a series of organisations providing an alternative agenda to cater for those with no religion. The National Secular Society has been campaigning for the separation of religion and politics, while Humanists UK aim at bringing together non-religious people to develop their own understanding of the world. The two websites contain information about alternative ways of understanding the world and provide an interesting collection of secular perspectives. A more scholarly approach to the study of secularism has been developed by the Non-religion and Secularity Network.

D 2 October 2018    AKatya Braginskaia

Statistics and main surveys 2015

October 2015: A new report We fear for our lives: offline and online experiences of anti-muslim hostility" shows that Muslims targeted in Islamophobic attacks are reluctant to report incidents (...)

- October 2015: A new report We fear for our lives: offline and online experiences of anti-muslim hostility" shows that Muslims targeted in Islamophobic attacks are reluctant to report incidents and often receive little support from onlookers. The report by researchers, from Birmingham City University and Nottingham Trent University, was commissioned by Tell MAMA (Measuring Anti-Muslim Attacks).

- June 2015: Ethnicity and Religion of the Non-UK Born Population in England and Wales, 2011 Census Analysis. A Report from the Office for National Statistics on 18 June 2015.

- March 2015: the UK Data Service released the Anglo-Jewry Database, resource containing data on 29,275 Jewish inhabitants of the British Isles in 1851 (90% of the Jewish community at that time). Information and documentation can be found online.

- February 2015: Gallup’s data on religion and the paranormal between 1939 and 1999 have now been collated for the first time by Clive Field in a new 64-page BRIN working paper: Religion in Great Britain, 1939-99.

- January 2015: the complete dataset for the 2013 Scottish Social Attitudes Survey was made available for secondary analysis by the UK Data Service as SN 7519 on 20 January 2015.

D 29 October 2015    AIngrid Storm

Statistics and main surveys 2013-2014

2014: Statistics for mission 2012 is the annual publication of data concerning the Church of England, and contains both affiliation and attendance statistics. "Religion, identity, and other (...)

2014:
- Statistics for mission 2012 is the annual publication of data concerning the Church of England, and contains both affiliation and attendance statistics.

- "Religion, identity, and other issues" and "Jewish and Muslim Press and Other News" on the British Religion numbers blog.

2013: The full reports from the British Social Attitudes survey for 2012 contain data on trends in religious affiliation.

D 8 September 2012   

Statistics and main surveys 2011-2012

December 2012: The first results on religion from the 2011 National Census has been released and shows that the percentage of Christians (59%) has declined since the 2001 Census while both (...)

December 2012: The first results on religion from the 2011 National Census has been released and shows that the percentage of Christians (59%) has declined since the 2001 Census while both nonreligious (25%) and Muslims (5%) have increased.

September 2012: The full reports from the British Social Attitudes survey for 2011 contain data on religiosity and attitudes to Muslims.

June 2012: Church Statistics 2010/11 is the annual publication of data concerning the Church of England, and contains both affiliation, attendance, financial and employment statistics.

April 2012: a new report – Degrees of Separation: Ethnic Minority Voters and the Conservative Party – released by Lord Ashcroft on his blog showed religion to be a powerful predictor of voting for the conservative party.

February 2012: YouGov’s religion barometer shows among other things that more respondents think religion is a force for evil than a force for good, but few think Britain is too religious.

February 2012: A survey conducted by Ipsos MORI for the Richard Dawkins Foundation for Reason and Science shows that people who were recorded as Christian in the 2011 census are overwhelmingly secular in their attitudes on a range of issues.

December 2011: A topic report on race, religion and equality in the 2009/2010 Citizenship Survey was released.

July 2011: The 2010 National Survey of Charities and Social Enterprises (NSCSE), conducted by Ipsos MORI for the Office for Civil Society, shows that religious and faith based activities was considered the main activity of 13% of the organisations.

D 9 September 2012   

Statistics and main surveys 2009

August 2009: The first two (of five) reports from the full (four quarters) Citizenship Survey for 2007-08 contain much data of religious interest.
June 2009: Susannah Clark and Justin Thacker, (...)

August 2009: The first two (of five) reports from the full (four quarters) Citizenship Survey for 2007-08 contain much data of religious interest.

June 2009: Susannah Clark and Justin Thacker, Young People Matter: A Report and Survey of Youth Volunteering by the Evangelical Alliance.

April/May 2009: COMRES conducted a survey of Christians using Cpanel in including items on attitudes to the proposed 2010 Papal visit; whether living as a Christian in Britain is more or less difficult than in the past; donations to charity since the recession began; political party preference.

April 2009: Funeral Music 2009 – Top Ten Listings. A survey of 242 Co-operative Funeral care funeral homes.

13 April 2009: Survey of belief in ghosts and the supernatural, conducted by ComRes on behalf of Theos, a public theology think-tank.

25 March 2009: Ipsos MORI survey of Muslim women on behalf of the Equality and Human Rights Commission. See also a summary of a survey into race and attitudes in Britain conducted by Ipsos MORI for the EHRC.

The 23 March ComRes Pollwatch reported that a recent survey of Cpanel (the ComRes panel of UK Christians) reveals that most Christians in the UK think the decision to send British forces to Iraq was unjustified.

February 2009: ComRes survey on behalf of the BBC, on attitudes to the portrayal and reporting of religion in the media.

D 11 September 2012   

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Royaume-Uni > Données socio-religieuses > Provenance des données

Provenance des données

Des informations précises

Un portrait complet de la religion au Royaume-Uni, à partir du recensement de 2011, peut être trouvé sur le site gouvernemental des statistiques.
Des informations et commentaires sur l’actualité se (...)

Un portrait complet de la religion au Royaume-Uni, à partir du recensement de 2011, peut être trouvé sur le site gouvernemental des statistiques.

Des informations et commentaires sur l’actualité se trouvent sur le blog British Religion in Numbers.

Le groupe de réflexion Theos part du principe que le monde d’aujourd’hui ne peut être compris sans l’éclairage de la religion. Il propose de nombreux rapports (en anglais) sur la religion dans son rapport à la société contemporaine.

Le Scottish Household Survey fournit des informations démographiques qui incluent l’appartenance religieuse. Les chiffres 2016 sont disponibles dans le rapport Scotland’s People : Results from the 2015 Scottish Household Survey.

2 septembre 2016

Enquêtes et sondages 2015

Octobre 2015 : un nouveau rapport We fear for our lives : offline and online experiences of anti-muslim hostility" montre que les musulmans visés dans les attaques islamophobes sont réticents à (...)

- Octobre 2015 : un nouveau rapport We fear for our lives : offline and online experiences of anti-muslim hostility" montre que les musulmans visés dans les attaques islamophobes sont réticents à signaler les incidents et reçoivent souvent peu de soutien des témoins. Ce rapport des chercheurs de la City University de Birmingham et de la Trent University de Nottingham, a été commandé par MAMA Tell (mesure des attaques anti-musulmanes).

- Juin 2015 : Ethnicity and Religion of the Non-UK Born Population in England and Wales est une analyse du recensement de 2011 de l’office national des statistiques.

- Mars 2015 : le service de données du Royaume-Uni a publié une base de données sur les Juifs anglais contenant des données sur les 29 275 habitants juifs des îles britanniques en 1851 (90% de la communauté juive à l’époque).

- Février 2015 : les données de Gallup sur la religion et le paranormal entre 1939 et 1999 ont été rassemblées pour la première fois par Clive Field, Religion en Grande-Bretagne, de 1939 à 1999.

- Janvier 2015 : l’ensemble des données pour 2013 de la Scottish Social Attitudes Survey a été publié.

29 octobre 2015

Enquêtes et sondages 2013-2014

2014 :
les statistiques sur l’Église d’Angleterre en 2012 (en anglais) est la publication annuelle des données relatives à cette Église. Le document contient notamment des données relatives sur (...)

2014 :
- les statistiques sur l’Église d’Angleterre en 2012 (en anglais) est la publication annuelle des données relatives à cette Église. Le document contient notamment des données relatives sur l’appartenance et la participation.

- "Religion, identity, and other issues" et "Jewish and Muslim Press and Other News" sur le blog British Religion numbers.

2013 : les rapports complets de l’enquête sur les attitudes sociales en Grande-Bretagne pour l’année 2012 (en anglais) contiennent des données sur l’affiliation religieuse.

8 septembre 2012

Enquêtes et sondages 2011-2012

Décembre 2012 : Les premiers résultats sur la religion issus du recensement National 2011 ont été publiés et montrent que le pourcentage des chrétiens (59%) a diminué depuis le recensement de 2001, (...)

Décembre 2012 : Les premiers résultats sur la religion issus du recensement National 2011 ont été publiés et montrent que le pourcentage des chrétiens (59%) a diminué depuis le recensement de 2001, tandis que le nombre des non croyants (25%) et des musulmans (5%) a augmenté.

Septembre 2012 : Les rapports complets de l’enquête sur les attitudes sociales en Grande-Bretagne pour l’année 2011 contiennent des données sur la religiosité et les attitudes envers les musulmans.

Juin 2012 : Les statistiques sur l’Église 2010/11 est la publication annuelle des données relatives à l’Église d’Angleterre et contient des statistiques relatives à l’appartenance, à la participation, aux finances et à l’emploi.

Avril 2012 : un nouveau rapport - Degrees of Separation : Ethnic Minority Voters and the Conservative Party (Degré de Séparation : les électeurs des minorités ethniques et le Parti conservateur) - publié par Lord Ashcroft sur son Blog a montré que la religion est un puissant prédicteur du vote pour le Parti conservateur.

Février 2012 : Le baromètre de la religion de YouGov montre entre autres que la majorité des personnes interrogées pensent que la religion est une force négative plutôt qu’une force positive, mais peu pensent que la Grande-Bretagne est un pays trop religieux.

Février 2012 : Une enquête réalisée par Ipsos MORI pour la Richard Dawkins Foundation for Reason and Science montre que ceux qui se sont déclarés chrétiens lors du recensement de 2011 manifestent des attitudes majoritairement laïques sur toute une série de questions.

Décembre 2011 : Publication d’un rapport thématique sur l’origine ethnique, la religion et l’égalité dans l’Enquête sur la citoyenneté 2009/2010.

Juillet 2011 : L’enquête nationale 2010 sur les organismes de bienfaisance et les entreprises sociales (NSCSE) menée par Ipsos MORI pour le Bureau de la Société Civile, montre que 13% des organisations considèrent que leur principale activité est religieuse ou confessionnelle.

9 septembre 2012

Enquêtes et sondages 2009

Août 2009 : les deux premiers rapports (sur cinq) de l’enquête citoyenne complète de 2007-2008 contient de nombreux éléments intéressant la religion.
Juin 2009 : Susannah Clark and Justin Thacker, (...)

Août 2009 : les deux premiers rapports (sur cinq) de l’enquête citoyenne complète de 2007-2008 contient de nombreux éléments intéressant la religion.

Juin 2009 : Susannah Clark and Justin Thacker, Young People Matter : A Report and Survey of Youth Volunteering by the Evangelical Alliance (Les jeunes comptent : rapport et étude de l’Alliance évangélique sur le volontariat des jeunes).

Avril/Mai 2009 : COMRES a mené une étude avec Cpanel concernant les chrétiens. Elle comporte des informations sur les réactions à la visite possible du Pape en 2010 ; sur la difficulté d’être chrétien en Grande-bretagne, sur les dons aux oeuvres depuis le début de la récession, et sur les préférences politiques.

Avril 2009 : Musiques de funérailles 2009 – Top Ten. Une étude de 242 entreprises coopératives de services funèbres.

13 avril 2009 : enquête sur la croyance aux fantômes et au surnaturel, réalisée par ComRes pour Theos, groupe public de réflexion théologique.

25 mars 2009 : sondage Ipsos MORI auprès de femmes musulmanes pour la Commission pour l’égalité et les droits de l’homme (Equality and Human Rights Commission). Voir aussi le résumé de l’enquête sur les races et les attitudes en Angleterre réalisée par Ipsos MORI pour la CEDH.

Le 23 mars, ComRes a diffusé le résultat d’une enquête récente de Cpanel (le panel de ComRes pour les chrétiens du Royaume-Uni) : celle-ci révèle que la plupart des chrétiens du Royaume-Uni considèrent qu’il était injustifié d’envoyer des forces britanniques en Irak.

Février 2009 : enquête de ComRes pour la BBC, sur les attitudes envers l’image et la description des religions donnée par les médias.

11 septembre 2012