eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » United Kingdom » Law and religion » General overview

General overview

A constitutional complexity

A few warnings are necessary before attempting to describe the legal status of religion in the UK. The United Kingdom is a composite state, made up of four distinct countries with three quite (...)

A few warnings are necessary before attempting to describe the legal status of religion in the UK. The United Kingdom is a composite state, made up of four distinct countries with three quite separate legal systems (for England and Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland). Modern legislation is often made separately for each country, and in 1999 a Scottish Parliament was restored after an interval of nearly three centuries.

Moreover, the state has no written constitution. Certain key documents and conventions are regarded as constitutional, but there is no simple list of sources of such authority. Similarly, not all law is codified; the English system in particular is based on ‘common law’, modified and supplemented by statutes. The structure of legal material and the style of legal thinking in the United Kingdom are thus rather different than elsewhere in Europe.

In the field of Church and State the complications are even greater. There is an established church in England (the Church of England) of which the Queen is Supreme Governor. The Anglican Churches in Wales and Northern Ireland have been disestablished, however, and that in Scotland is small by comparison with the (established) Church of Scotland. The Queen, Supreme Governor of the episcopal Church of England, is also a member of the reformed, presbyterian Church of Scotland.

The laws and regulations of religious group in the United Kingdom are collected and rendered available by the Interfaith Legal Advisers Network, and housed at the Centre for Law and Religion.

D 11 September 2012    ADavid McClean

Historical evolution

Under King Henry VIII papal authority was abrogated and royal supremacy over the English church was asserted in the Act of Supremacy 1534. The Convocations (assemblies of bishops and clergy) were (...)

Under King Henry VIII papal authority was abrogated and royal supremacy over the English church was asserted in the Act of Supremacy 1534. The Convocations (assemblies of bishops and clergy) were obliged to obtain royal authority for their acts by the Submission of the Clergy Act of the same year. Anglican independence and a classical Anglican theology which was ‘both Catholic and Reformed’ were put in place in the ‘Elizabethan settlement’ from 1558 onwards. In Wales the Anglican dioceses were disestablished in 1920 and formed a separate Church in Wales.

In Scotland, the Reformation dates from 1560. The Scottish Parliament guaranteed the liberties of the church and its presbyterian form of government in 1592; the latter was restored, after an episcopal interlude, in 1690. The episcopalians then formed the (Anglican) Episcopal Church of Scotland.

In Ireland, English domination saw the creation of the (Anglican) Church of Ireland, finally disestablished in 1871. It was always a minority church, the majority of the Irish remaining Roman Catholic in allegiance.

England continues to have certain constitutional rules designed to secure the Protestant succession to the throne (Act of Settlement 1701). The sovereign is required to join in communion with the Church of England of which she is Supreme Governor, and anyone who becomes or who marries a Roman Catholic is excluded from succession to the throne. These rules reflect historical events but do not hinder the close working relationship between the Catholic Church and the other churches, or between that church and the state. The Roman Catholic Church was able to restore a hierarchy in Great Britain in 1850, although the titles of Catholic archbishops and bishops are still given a limited recognition in official British protocol.

The sovereign takes various oaths, on accession to the throne and at her coronation (which takes place within a Church of England eucharist) to protect its rights (see Coronation Oath Act 1688; Union with Scotland Act 1706). As the Church of England is in a sense a part of the state, however (for example, a number of bishops sit as members of the House of Lords), there can be no ‘concordat’ or treaty-like relationship between church and state. The Scottish position is not dissimilar: during the period of nearly three centuries during which there was no separate Scottish Parliament, the annual General Assembly of the Church of Scotland was a major forum for the expression of Scottish national feeling.

D 11 September 2012    ADavid McClean

Freedom of religion

In the absence of a written constitution there can be no formal constitutional guarantees of religious freedom. However, the UK was one of the first signatories of the European Convention on (...)

In the absence of a written constitution there can be no formal constitutional guarantees of religious freedom. However, the UK was one of the first signatories of the European Convention on Human Rights, and effect was eventually given to that Convention as part of the domestic law of England by the Human Rights Act 1998. The effect of the 1998 Act was that the freedoms guaranteed by the Convention, including the freedom of thought, conscience and religion in Article 9, can be relied upon in the English courts. The courts are empowered to make ‘declarations of incompatibility’, i.e. they can rule that a provision in primary legislation is incompatible with the Convention.

There is little doubt that even before the European Convention, there was a recognised right to religious freedom. One encyclopaedic work on English law asserts as follows:
"The civil power, while exercising complete control over all estates and degrees, whether ecclesiastical or temporal, and affording all necessary protection from wrongful acts, refrains from exercising any purely spiritual functions, and, save insofar as positive law may otherwise provide recognises and has always recognised the right of all to follow the dictates of their consciences in the religious opinion they hold." (Halsbury’s Laws of England, vol. 14, para. 339)

D 11 September 2012    ADavid McClean

Juridical status of the religious bodies

Because one church is established in England, English law about ‘the Church’ often means that body, the Church of England. No other church in England (or, with the exception of the Church of (...)

Because one church is established in England, English law about ‘the Church’ often means that body, the Church of England. No other church in England (or, with the exception of the Church of Scotland, elsewhere in the United Kingdom) has anything that the state would recognise as ‘ecclesiastical law’.

For religious bodies other than the Church of England and the Church of Scotland, the applicable legal principles are those of the general law of charities and especially of charitable trusts. The non-established churches are essentially organised as voluntary associations, and their property is held by trustees (which may be registered companies) under the ordinary secular law. They have no special status.

Their canon law (if they use this term; most do not) has the status of a contract between their members. Property matters are generally managed through the ‘trust’, that ubiquitous device of English property law; but, especially in the larger churches where some complex division of functions is required as between national and local organs of the church, this may be supplemented by a private Act of Parliament.

For the same sort of reason, there is no formal listing of churches ‘recognised’ as such by the State. Places of worship may be registered for a variety of purposes, mainly the solemnisation of marriages (Places of Worship Registration Act 1855). Nor has English law a fully-developed notion of public law status or rights; the notion of a church as a corporation under public law is meaningless to the English lawyer.

There can be, of course, problems in determining whether a particular body does constitute a church. The Church of Scientology wished to register a building as a place of worship, but the Court of Appeal held that this involved the assembly of persons to worship God or to do reverence to a supreme being or deity; instruction in a secular philosophy was not sufficient. A humanist body, the South Place Ethical Society, was held for similar reasons not to be entitled to charitable status; it did not exist for the advancement of religion. The Mormon church (the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints) would seem to qualify as a church, but its temple in England, which is only open to Mormons ‘in good standing’ especially recommended for the purpose, was held not to be a place of public religious worship for rating (local tax) purposes.

The general position, therefore, is that the churches have the same rights as any other voluntary association to enter into contracts and hold property, to discipline their officers and members (using internal tribunals if they so wish), and to operate social welfare or other charitable (or indeed commercial) enterprises. Anglican bishops who are members of the House of Lords cannot vote in elections for the House of Commons, but the rest of the clergy have few privileges or disabilities. There are some special provisions affecting all churches, but paradoxically the privileged position of the Church of England as an established church compromises its autonomy in a number of respects.

D 11 September 2012    ADavid McClean

The Church of England

The Church of England is an established church, so that its ecclesiastical law (including its canon law) is regarded as an integral part of the law of England. Its continuity with the (...)

The Church of England is an established church, so that its ecclesiastical law (including its canon law) is regarded as an integral part of the law of England. Its continuity with the pre-Reformation church is recognised in the principle that a rule of pre-Reformation ecclesiastical law can be relied upon if it is proved to have been recognised, continued and acted upon in England since the Reformation; if that test is met, the rule is treated as part of the ecclesiastical common law of England. From the 16th to the early 20th century, much legislation affecting the Church was passed in the usual way by Parliament.

The power to make changes in this body of law is now vested in the General Synod by virtue of the Church of England Assembly (Powers) Act 1919, commonly called the Enabling Act. The Synod consists of three houses, a House of Bishops (which has special powers in matters of doctrine), a House of Clergy and a House of Laity, the two latter each comprising some 250 elected members. All three houses must assent to any proposal, which means that the representatives of the laity have a full part in the making of canon law.

The Synod has power to pass ‘Measures’ on any matter affecting the Church of England, and a Measure has the same effect as an Act of Parliament and can amend or repeal existing Acts. In effect, the Synod enjoys some of the powers otherwise reserved exclusively to Parliament. Parliament retains some control: a Measure passed by the Synod can only be presented for the Royal Assent required to make it law if each House of Parliament resolves that this should be done; but while Parliament may (but very seldom does) reject a Measure it has no power to amend the text of a Measure.

The canon law of the Church of England is made by the Synod without reference to Parliament, though the formal ‘promulgation’ of a new Canon requires the Royal Assent and Licence, a formal act expressing the Queen’s position as Supreme Governor of the Church of England. The legal significance of this is that the Queen will not be advised to assent to a Canon if it would conflict with English law in a wider sense. It is often necessary, therefore, for the Synod to pass two types of legislation on the same topic: a Measure which removes any legal obstacle to the making of a proposed Canon, and then the Canon itself making the desired change.

A more controversial limitation on the freedom of the Church is the right of the Crown, the Queen acting on the advice of the Prime Minister, to appoint the archbishops and diocesan bishops of the Church of England. This power is now qualified by the agreement between the leaders of the Church and the then government in 1977 to restrict the field from which the Crown’s choice could be made to those nominated by the Church.

The system is operated by a Crown Appointments Commission. The Commission sends two names to the Prime Minister and may indicate an order of preference. The Prime Minister decides which name to present to the Queen; he may not submit any other name, though he can chose either and can ask for more names, for example if one or both of the original nominees declines appointment.

D 11 September 2012    ADavid McClean

The Church of Scotland

In Scotland, the General Assembly Act 1592 remains the statutory foundation of the presbyterian character of the reformed Church of Scotland, a church often called simply ‘the Kirk’. At the time of (...)

In Scotland, the General Assembly Act 1592 remains the statutory foundation of the presbyterian character of the reformed Church of Scotland, a church often called simply ‘the Kirk’. At the time of the union between England and Scotland, the Scottish Parliament passed the Protestant Religion and Presbyterian Church Act 1706 (‘the Act of Security’), requiring recognition of the presbyterian governance of the Church as an essential and irrevocable condition of union. (An English Act of 1706, sometimes known as the Maintenance of the Church of England Act, made equivalent provision for the position of the Church of England.)

The nineteenth century saw a number of disputes within the Kirk, some of the most acute concerning the right of the State to intervene in church affairs to disallow church decisions and legislation. A number of separate churches came into being, most of which were re-united in 1921. To facilitate the reunion, Parliament passed the Church of Scotland Act 1921 accepting the separate jurisdiction of the church in spiritual matters and giving the church very considerable freedom in its government. The Act is relied on by the authorities of the Church of Scotland to resist any court action concerning its affairs.

The position of the Church of Scotland is highly anomalous in terms of the traditional categorisation of churches. It is clearly an established church, yet the Church of Scotland Act 1921 gives it such a high degree of autonomy as almost to separate church and state.

D 11 September 2012    ADavid McClean

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Royaume-Uni > Statut juridique des religions > Présentation générale

Présentation générale

Une complexité constitutionnelle

Avant de tenter de décrire les statuts juridiques de la religion au Royaume-Uni, il est nécessaire d’attirer l’attention sur certains points. Le Royaume-Uni est un État composite, constitué de quatre (...)

Avant de tenter de décrire les statuts juridiques de la religion au Royaume-Uni, il est nécessaire d’attirer l’attention sur certains points. Le Royaume-Uni est un État composite, constitué de quatre pays distincts ayant trois systèmes législatifs différents (pour l’Angleterre et le Pays de Galles, pour l’Écosse et pour l’Irlande du nord). La législation moderne est souvent distincte pour chacun des pays et en 1999, le parlement écossais a été rétabli après près de trois siècles d’interruption.

De plus, l’État ne possède pas de constitution écrite. Certains documents-clés sont considérés comme constitutionnels, mais il n’existe aucune liste de source d’une telle autorité. De même, toutes les lois ne sont pas codifiées, le système anglais se fonde en particulier sur le "common law" (droit coutumier), modifié et complété par statuts. La structure du matériel juridique et le mode de pensée juridique au Royaume-Uni diffèrent donc fortement de ceux du reste de l’Europe.

Dans le domaine de l’Église et de l’État, les complexités sont encore plus importantes. Il existe une Église d’État en Angleterre (l’Église d’Angleterre) dont la reine est le gouverneur suprême. Cependant, les Églises anglicanes au Pays de Galles et en Irlande du nord ont été désétablies, et l’Église anglicane d’Écosse est petite par rapport à l’Église (établie) d’Écosse. La reine, qui est le gouverneur suprême de l’Église épiscopale d’Angleterre, est également membre de l’Église épiscopale réformée d’Écosse.

Les textes juridiques concernant les différents groupes religieux au Royaume-Uni sont rassemblés par le réseau interreligieux des conseillers juridiques (Interfaith Legal Advisers Network) et mises à disposition sur internet par le Centre for Law and Religion.
11 septembre 2012

L’évolution historique

Sous le roi Henri VIII, l’autorité du Pape a été abolie et la suprématie royale sur l’Église anglaise établie par l’Act of Supremacy en 1543. La même année, l’application du Clergy Act obligeait les (...)

Sous le roi Henri VIII, l’autorité du Pape a été abolie et la suprématie royale sur l’Église anglaise établie par l’Act of Supremacy en 1543. La même année, l’application du Clergy Act obligeait les convocations (assemblées des évêques et du clergé) à obtenir l’autorisation royale pour leurs lois. L’indépendance des anglicans et la théologie classique anglicane, qui était ‘à la fois catholique et réformée’, ont été établies par le Elizabethan Settlement dès 1558. Au pays de Galle, les diocèses anglicans ont été désétablis en 1920 et ont formé une Église séparée du Pays de Galle.

En Écosse, la réforme remonte à 1560. En 1592, le parlement écossait a garanti les libertés de l’Église et sa forme de gouvernement presbytérienne. Cette dernière a été rétablie en 1690, après une interruption épiscopale. Les Épiscopaliens ont ensuite formé l’Église épiscopale (anglicane) d’Écosse.

En Irlande, la domination anglaise a vu la création de l’Église (anglicane) d’Irlande qui a finalement été désétablie en 1871. Elle a toujours été une Église minoritaire, la majorité des Irlandais demeurant fidèles à l’Église catholique romaine.

L’Angleterre conserve certaines règles destinées à garantir que le successeur au trône est protestant (Act of Settlement de 1701). Le souverain est tenu d’être en communion avec l’Église d’Angleterre dont il est le gouverneur suprême et toute personne devenant catholique romain ou épousant une personne catholique romaine est exclue de la succession au trône. Ces règles sont le reflet d’événements du passé, et n’empêchent pas une étroite collaboration, ni entre l’Église catholique et les autres Églises, ni entre cette Église et l’État. L’Église catholique romaine a pu rétablir une hiérarchie en Grande-Bretagne en 1850, bien que les titres d’archevêques et d’évêques catholiques soient reconnus de manière limitée dans le protocole traditionnel britannique.

Le souverain prête différents serments, lors de son accession au trône et lors de son couronnement (qui a lieu dans le cadre d’une eucharistie de l’Église d’Angleterre), afin de protéger les droits de l’Église (voir le Coronation Oath Act de 1688 et le Union with Scotland Act de 1706). Cependant, étant donné que l’Église d’Angleterre fait en un sens partie de l’Etat (par exemple, un certain nombre d’évêques siègent en tant que membre à la chambre des Lords), il ne peut y avoir de relation entre l’Église et l’Etat fondé sur un concordat ou sur une forme de traité. La position écossaise est similaire : pendant les trois cent ans durant lesquels il n’existait pas de parlement écossais séparé, l’assemblée annuelle de l’Église d’Ecosse était le théâtre principal de l’expression du sentiment national écossais.

11 septembre 2012

Liberté de religion

En l’absence de constitution écrite, il ne peut y avoir de garantie constitutionnelle formelle de la liberté de religion. Cependant, le Royaume-Uni a été l’un des premiers États signataires de la (...)

En l’absence de constitution écrite, il ne peut y avoir de garantie constitutionnelle formelle de la liberté de religion. Cependant, le Royaume-Uni a été l’un des premiers États signataires de la Convention européenne de Droits de l’Homme et avec finalement pour conséquence l’inclusion de la convention au droit national anglais par le Human Rights Act de 1998. La loi de 1998 a eu pour conséquence qu’il est possible d’invoquer dans les tribunaux anglais les libertés garanties par la Convention, y compris la liberté de pensée, de conscience et de religion à l’article 9. Les tribunaux ont autorité pour faire des ’déclarations d’incompatibilité’, elles peuvent par exemple juger qu’une disposition du droit primaire est incompatible avec la Convention.
Il y a peu de doute que la liberté de religion était reconnue même avant la Convention européenne. Un article encyclopédique sur le droit anglais affirme ce qui suit : "L’autorité civile, exerçant un contrôle complet dans tous domaines et à tous niveaux, tant ecclésiastique que temporel, et offrant la protection nécessaire contre les lois injustes, s’abstient d’exercer toute fonction purement spirituelle et, hormis dans la mesure où le droit positif en décide autrement, reconnaît et a toujours reconnu à chacun le droit de suivre ce que lui dicte sa conscience dans son opinion religieuse." (traduction de Halsbury’s Laws of England, vol. 14, par. 339).

11 septembre 2012

Statut juridique des organes religieux

Etant donné qu’il existe en Angleterre une Église d’Etat, le droit anglais relatif à "l’Église" désigne souvent cet organisme, à savoir l’Église d’Angleterre. L’Etat ne reconnaît de "droit ecclésiastique" (...)

Etant donné qu’il existe en Angleterre une Église d’Etat, le droit anglais relatif à "l’Église" désigne souvent cet organisme, à savoir l’Église d’Angleterre. L’Etat ne reconnaît de "droit ecclésiastique" pour aucune autre Église en Angleterre (ni au Royaume-Uni, à l’exception de l’Église d’Ecosse).

Les principes juridiques s’appliquant aux organes religieux autres que l’Église d’Angleterre et l’Église d’Ecosse relèvent du droit général des sociétés de bienfaisance, particulièrement des fondations d’utilité publique. Les Églises qui ne sont pas d’Etat sont principalement constituées en association de bénévoles et leur propriété est détenue par des fiducies (qui peuvent être des sociétés enregistrées) dans le cadre de la loi générale. Elles ne bénéficient d’aucun statut particulier.

Leur droit canonique (pour celles qui utilisent ce terme, la plupart ne le font pas) a le statut de contrat entre leurs membres. Tout ce qui touche à la propriété est en principe géré par le trust, dispositif omniprésent du droit anglais. Cependant une loi d’intérêt privé adoptée par le parlement peut venir compléter cela, en particulier dans le cas d’Églises plus importantes pour lesquelles il est nécessaire d’établir une séparation complexe des fonctions telle qu’entre les organes nationaux et locaux de l’Église.

C’est pour des raisons similaires qu’il n’existe aucun registre officiel des Églises "reconnues" en tant que telles par l’Etat. Les lieux de culte peuvent être enregistrés à différentes fins, principalement pour la célébration des mariages (enregistrement des lieux de culte loi 1855). Il n’existe pas non plus, dans le droit anglais, de notion entièrement développée des droits ou des statuts de droit public, la notion d’Église en tant que corporation de droit public n’a aucun sens pour un magistrat anglais.

Bien sûr, des problèmes peuvent surgir lorsqu’il s’agit de déterminer si une institution constitue une Église ou non. L’Église de Scientologie souhaitait inscrire un immeuble en tant que lieu de culte, mais la cour d’appel a statué qu’il fallait qu’un tel lieu rassemble des personnes faisant leurs dévotions à Dieu ou rendant hommage à un être suprême ou à une déité ; l’enseignement d’une philosophie séculaire n’était pas suffisant. Un organisme humaniste, la "South Place Ethical Society", s’est vu refuser le statut d’institution caritative pour des raisons similaires : il n’était pas destiné à promouvoir la religion. L’Église Mormone (Église de Jésus-Christ des Saints des derniers jours), semblerait pouvoir être reconnue en tant qu’Église, mais son temple en Angleterre, ouvert uniquement aux Mormons "de bonne réputation" spécialement recommandés à cet effet, n’a pas été reconnu comme un lieu de culte public pour des raisons d’impôts locaux.

La position générale, cependant, est que les Églises ont les mêmes droits que toute autre association libre de faire des contrats et de détenir des biens immobiliers, de juger leurs responsablesers et membres (au moyen de tribunaux internes si elles le souhaitent), et d’entreprendre des initiatives de bien-être social ou d’autres initiatives caritatives (voire même commerciales). Les évêques anglicans qui siègent à la Chambre des Lords ne sont pas autorisés à voter aux élections de la chambre de communes, mais les autres membres du clergé ont peu de privilèges ou de d’interdictions. Il existe certaines provisions spéciales qui s’appliquent à toutes les Églises, mais paradoxalement la position privilégiée de l’Église anglicane en tant qu’Église établie compromet son autonomie à bien des égards.

11 septembre 2012

L’Eglise d’Angleterre

L’Église d’Angleterre est une Église d’État, si bien que son droit ecclésiastique (y compris son droit canon) est considéré comme faisant partie intégrante du droit anglais. Sa continuité avec le droit de (...)

L’Église d’Angleterre est une Église d’État, si bien que son droit ecclésiastique (y compris son droit canon) est considéré comme faisant partie intégrante du droit anglais. Sa continuité avec le droit de l’Église pré-réformée est reconnue par le principe que l’on peut invoquer une règle de droit ecclésiastique pré-réformé dans la mesure où il est prouvé que cette règle a été reconnue, utilisée et appliquée en Angleterre depuis la Réforme. Si cette condition est remplie, cette règle est considérée comme faisant partie du droit coutumier ecclésiastique anglais. Du XVIème au début du XXème, la plupart du droit concernant l’Église a été repris par le parlement.

Le pouvoir de changer cette législation octroyé au Synode général en vertu du Church of England Assembly (Power) Act de 1919, communément appelé le Enabling Act. Le synode est composé de trois chambres, une chambre des évêques (dotée de pouvoirs particuliers en matière de doctrine), une chambre du clergé et une chambre de laïcs, ces deux dernières étant composées de 250 membres élus. Les trois chambres doivent chacune accepter toute proposition, ce qui signifie que les représentants laïcs participent pleinement à l’élaboration du droit canon.

Le Synode a autorité pour faire voter des ’mesures’ sur tous les domaines liés à l’Église d’Angleterre. Une mesure a la même incidence qu’une loi passée par le parlement, elle peut amender ou abroger une loi existante. Dans les faits, le Synode jouit de certains pouvoirs par ailleurs réservés au parlement. Le parlement conserve un certain contrôle : une mesure passée par le Synode ne peut être présentée au consentement royal requis pour devenir une loi que si chacune des chambres du parlement y a consenti. Cependant, bien que le parlement puisse refuser une mesure (ce qu’il fait rarement), il ne peut amender le texte d’une mesure.
Le droit canon de l’Église d’Angleterre est élaboré par le Synode sans en référer au parlement, bien que la ’promulgation’ formelle d’un nouveau canon requière le consentement et l’autorisation royaux, un acte formel exprimant la position de la reine en tant que gouverneur suprême de l’Église d’Angleterre. La signification légale de cela est que la reine ne serait pas avisée d’accepter un canon s’il devait y avoir conflit avec le droit anglais au sens large. Il est donc souvent nécessaire au Synode de faire voter deux types de mesure sur le même sujet : une mesure levant l’obstacle juridique au canon proposé puis le canon lui-même apportant les changements souhaités.
Le droit de la couronne est une limite plus controversée à la liberté de l’Église. Il s’agit du droit de la reine, sur conseil du premier ministre, de nommer les archevêques et les évêques diocésains de l’Église d’Angleterre. Ce pouvoir est désormais qualifié dans l’accord passé en 1977 entre les dirigeants de l’Église et le gouvernement de l’époque qui restreint le champ de ceux pouvant être nommés par la couronne.

Le système est dirigé par une commission de nomination de la couronne. La commission transmet deux noms au Premier ministre et peut indiquer une préférence. Le premier ministre décide quel nom il souhaite présenter à la reine. Il ne peut soumettre aucun autre nom, mais il peut soumettre l’un des deux et demander d’autres noms, par exemple si un des nominés ou les deux refusent la nomination.

11 septembre 2012

L’Eglise d’Ecosse

En Écosse, le General Assembly Act de 1592 demeure le fondement statutaire du caractère presbytérien de l’Église réformée d’Écosse, une Église souvent appelée simplement la ‘kirk’. A l’époque de l’Union (...)

En Écosse, le General Assembly Act de 1592 demeure le fondement statutaire du caractère presbytérien de l’Église réformée d’Écosse, une Église souvent appelée simplement la ‘kirk’. A l’époque de l’Union entre l’Angleterre et l’Écosse, le parlement écossais a voté le Protestant Religion and Presbyterian Church Act de 1706 (le ’Act of Security’) qui exigeait comme condition essentielle et irrévocable de l’union que l’autorité presbytérienne sur l’Église soit reconnue. En 1706, une loi similaire anglaise, parfois connue sous le nom de Maintenance of the Church of England Act, posait la condition équivalente pour l’Église d’Angleterre.

Le XIXème siècle a vu nombre de conflit au sein de la Kirk, la plupart des conflits important concernaient le droit de l’État d’intervenir dans les affaires de l’Église afin de défaire des décisions et des lois de l’Église. De nombreuses Églises séparées virent le jour ; la plupart ont été réintégrée en 1921. Afin de faciliter la réintégration, le parlement a voté le Church of Scotland Act en 1921, acte qui acceptait une juridiction séparée de l’Église pour les questions religieuse et accordait à l’Église une grande liberté dans sa direction. Les autorités de l’Église se réfèrent à cette loi pour s’opposer à toute action légale concernant ses affaires.

La position de l’Église d’Écosse est très atypique du point de vue de la catégorisation traditionnelle des Églises. Il s’agit clairement d’une Église d’État, mais le Church of Scotland Act lui confère un tel degré d’autonomie qu’il sépare presque l’Église de l’État.

11 septembre 2012