eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Austria » Law and religion » Provisions » Education

Education

Religious instruction

According to art 17(4) of Basic State Law of 1867, religious instruction is a right and duty reserved to the legally recognised churches and religious societies. The obligating aspect is founded (...)

According to art 17(4) of Basic State Law of 1867, religious instruction is a right and duty reserved to the legally recognised churches and religious societies. The obligating aspect is founded in general responsibility of the State to take care of education and in the cooperation here necessary. Protestant (Lutheran, Calvinist and Methodist) and Christian Orthodox religious education is organised jointly.

D 20 July 2012    AWolfgang Wieshaider

Religious private schools

According to §4(1) of the Private Schools Act, private schools can be established and run by: morally reliable Austrian citizens, public bodies corporate and legally recognised churches and (...)

According to §4(1) of the Private Schools Act, private schools can be established and run by:

- morally reliable Austrian citizens,
- public bodies corporate and legally recognised churches and religious societies,
- any other domestic legal entity whose representatives are morally reliable.

The latter category comprises all other religious communities than legally recognised ones, including registered confessional communities.

S. 14 leg. cit. sets forth requirements which the schools must meet in order to get bestowed public status. Hereby, schools of territorial units, legally recognised churches and religious societies and other public bodies corporate are automatically considered to guarantee correct and appropriate education; whereas other schools are individually scrutinised.

Ss. 17, 18 leg. cit. entitle public status schools of legally recognised churches and religious societies to public subsidies for the personnel. Not only schools that are directly run by these bodies corporate, but also schools established by associations, foundations and funds, which are recognised by the competent ecclesiastical authority, are considered such confessional private schools entitled to the subsidies necessary to fulfil the curriculum as far as the number of pupils and teachers corresponds to those of similar public schools.
Subsidies for other schools are left to the competent minister’s discretion.

D 20 July 2012    AWolfgang Wieshaider

For further information

Ednan Aslan, "Religiöse Erziehung der Muslime in Österreich", öarr 55 (2008) 1–1. Stefan Hammer, Johannes Franck, "Religion in public education – report on Austria" in Gerhard Robbers (Hrsg.), (...)

- Ednan Aslan, "Religiöse Erziehung der Muslime in Österreich", öarr 55 (2008) 1–1.
- Stefan Hammer, Johannes Franck, "Religion in public education – report on Austria" in Gerhard Robbers (Hrsg.), Religion in Public Education – La religion dans l’éducation publique, European Consortium for Church and State Research, Trier, 2011, 39-62.
- Herbert Kalb, Richard Potz, Brigitte Schinkele, "Religionsrecht", WUV, Wien 2003, 341–394.
- Alfred Rinnerthaler (ed.), Historische und rechtliche Aspekte des Religionsunterrichts. Peter Lang, Frankfurt am Main 2004.
- Alfred Rinnerthaler (ed.), Das kirchliche Privatschulwesen – historische, pastorale, rechtliche und ökonomische Aspekte, Peter Lang, Frankfurt am Main, 2007.

D 20 July 2012    AWolfgang Wieshaider

Public schools

The main legal basis is the Religious Instruction Act of 1949 (RelUG), whose s. 1(1) determines religious instruction as a compulsory subject for all pupils being members of a legally recognised (...)

The main legal basis is the Religious Instruction Act of 1949 (RelUG), whose s. 1(1) determines religious instruction as a compulsory subject for all pupils being members of a legally recognised church or religious society and attending schools with public status, such as primary and secondary schools, agriculture and forestry colleges, vocational schools, colleges for social work and pedagogical colleges. At other schools religious instruction is optional.
In accordance with religious freedom, s. 1(2) leg. cit. guarantees the possibility to withdraw from religious education. This right can be exercised by the pupil’s parents, after the pupils has reached the age of 14, by her- or himself.
Pupils who are not affiliated or members of other than legally recognised religious societies are allowed to stay in another denominational class. However, this does not mean that they attend another religious education; the latter is not provided by the law.
Religious education is a subject marked in the school reports. If registered confessional communities organise religious education outside public schools and not subsidised by the State, the pupils’ attending can be recorded in the school reports, but not marked.
The pupils’ denominational affiliation – be it to a legally recognised church or religious society or to a registered confessional community - is stated in the school reports.
According to s. 2 of Religious Education Act the curricula for religious instruction are adopted by the recognised churches and religious societies themselves, whereas the number of lessons per week is determined by the State. The teachers need to be authorised by the respective religious society. Their salaries are paid by the State unless there are less than three pupils registered for one class. Small groups – also of different schools – can be joined, in order to enlarge the class. For details see s. 7a leg. cit. Islamic religious education has been offered since 1982/83.

D 1 December 2014    AWolfgang Wieshaider

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2019 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Autriche > Statut juridique des religions > Dispositions spécifiques > Ecole

Ecole

L’instruction religieuse

Selon l’art. 17(4) de la loi fondamentale de l’État de 1867, l’instruction religieuse est un droit et un devoir réservés aux Églises et sociétés religieuses légalement reconnues. Le caractère obligatoire (...)

Selon l’art. 17(4) de la loi fondamentale de l’État de 1867, l’instruction religieuse est un droit et un devoir réservés aux Églises et sociétés religieuses légalement reconnues. Le caractère obligatoire de cet enseignement renvoie à la responsabilité de l’État qui doit prendre en charge son organisation et établir la coopération nécessaire à sa mise en œuvre. L’instruction religieuse protestante (luthérienne, calviniste et méthodiste) et chrétienne orthodoxe s’organisent conjointement.

20 juillet 2012

Les écoles confessionnelles privées

Selon le § 4(1) de la loi sur les écoles privées, celles-ci peuvent être créées et gérées par :
des citoyens autrichiens moralement fiables,
des personnes morales de droit public, des Églises et (...)

Selon le § 4(1) de la loi sur les écoles privées, celles-ci peuvent être créées et gérées par :

- des citoyens autrichiens moralement fiables,
- des personnes morales de droit public, des Églises et sociétés religieuses légalement reconnues
- toute autre entité juridique nationale dont les représentants sont moralement fiables.

Cette dernière catégorie inclut toutes les communautés religieuses autres que celles légalement reconnues, y compris les communautés religieuses enregistrées.

Le § 14 énonce les exigences que les écoles doivent satisfaire afin d’obtenir un statut public. Les écoles des collectivités territoriales, des Églises et sociétés religieuses reconnues et des autres organismes publics sont ainsi automatiquement considérées comme garantissant une éducation correcte et appropriée, tandis que les autres écoles sont contrôlées individuellement.

Les §§ 17 et 18 autorisent les écoles publiques des Églises et sociétés religieuses reconnues à recevoir des subventions publiques pour leur personnel. Les écoles directement gérées par ces personnes morales, mais aussi celles établies par les associations, fondations et fonds et qui sont reconnues par l’autorité ecclésiastique compétente, sont considérés comme des écoles privées confessionnelles ayant droit aux subventions nécessaires à l’accomplissement du programme d’enseignement dans la mesure où le nombre d’élèves et d’enseignants correspond à celui d’écoles publiques similaires.

Les subventions pour les autres écoles sont laissées à la discrétion du ministre compétent.

20 juillet 2012

Pour en savoir plus

Ednan Aslan, "Religiöse Erziehung der Muslime in Österreich", öarr 55 (2008) 1–1.
Stefan Hammer, Johannes Franck, "Religion in public education – report on Austria" in Gerhard Robbers (Hrsg.), (...)

- Ednan Aslan, "Religiöse Erziehung der Muslime in Österreich", öarr 55 (2008) 1–1.
- Stefan Hammer, Johannes Franck, "Religion in public education – report on Austria" in Gerhard Robbers (Hrsg.), Religion in Public Education – La religion dans l’éducation publique, Consortium européen pour l’étude des relations Églises-État, Trèves, 2011, 39-62.
- Herbert Kalb, Richard Potz, Brigitte Schinkele, "Religionsrecht", WUV, Wien 2003, 341–394.
- Alfred Rinnerthaler (ed.), Historische und rechtliche Aspekte des Religionsunterrichts. Peter Lang, Frankfurt am Main, 2004.
- Alfred Rinnerthaler (ed.), Das kirchliche Privatschulwesen – historische, pastorale, rechtliche und ökonomische Aspekte, Peter Lang, Frankfurt am Main, 2007.

20 juillet 2012

Les écoles publiques

La principale base juridique est la loi sur l’instruction religieuse de 1949 (RelUG), dont le § 1(1) établit que l’instruction religieuse est une matière obligatoire pour tous les élèves membres d’une (...)

La principale base juridique est la loi sur l’instruction religieuse de 1949 (RelUG), dont le § 1(1) établit que l’instruction religieuse est une matière obligatoire pour tous les élèves membres d’une Église ou société religieuse reconnue et qui fréquentent des écoles dotées d’un statut public, telles que les écoles primaires et secondaires, les écoles d’agriculture et de sylviculture, les lycées professionnels, les écoles de travail social et les centre de formation pédagogique. Dans les autres écoles, l’enseignement religieux est facultatif.

Conformément à la liberté religieuse, le § 1(2) de la loi garantit la possibilité de ne pas participer aux cours d’éducation religieuse. Ce droit peut être exercé par les parents et par l’élève à partir de 14 ans.

L’éducation religieuse est une matière évaluée dans les bulletins scolaires. L’enseignement religieux organisé par des communautés religieuses enregistrées en dehors des écoles publiques et sans subvention de l’État fait l’objet pour les élèves d’une inscription dans leur bulletin scolaire, mais pas d’une note.

L’appartenance confessionnelle des élèves - que ce soit à une Église ou société religieuse reconnue ou à une communauté religieuse enregistrée - est indiquée dans leur bulletin scolaire.
Selon le § 2 de la loi sur l’éducation religieuse, les programmes d’instruction religieuse sont adoptés par les Églises et sociétés religieuses reconnues, tandis que le nombre de cours par semaine est déterminé par l’État. Les enseignants doivent obtenir une autorisation de la communauté religieuse concernée. Leurs salaires sont versés par l’État, à partir du moment où au moins trois élèves sont inscrits par classe. De petits groupes - y compris de différentes écoles - peuvent être réunis afin d’agrandir la classe. Pour plus de détails, voir le § 7a de la loi.

L’enseignement religieux islamique est proposé depuis l’année scolaire 1982/83.

1er décembre 2014