eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Austria » Law and religion » General overview

General overview

Religious Freedom

Religious freedom is guaranteed by Austrian law. The sources of law were created over nearly two centuries on the basis of the Edict of Tolerance of 1781. One element that is absolutely essential (...)

Religious freedom is guaranteed by Austrian law. The sources of law were created over nearly two centuries on the basis of the Edict of Tolerance of 1781. One element that is absolutely essential to the individual is the constitutional guarantee of the freedom of creed and conscience in Article 14 of the Basic Law of the State of 1867.
Article 14 as well as the Interdenominational Law of 1868, guarantee the right of each individual living in Austria to freely choose their religious affiliation, to publicly put an end to their religious affiliation and to ultimately be free to not belong to any religious community. The fundamental right to religious freedom was defined and detailed by Article 63, paragraph 2 of the 1919 State Treaty of St. Germain and by article 9 of the European Convention on Human Rights of 1950, both of which were made into constitutional laws.

The notion of religious freedom encompasses the freedom of belief (right to choose one’s beliefs), the freedom of worship (right to worship), freedom of profession (right to profess one’s faith outside of worship) and the freedom of conscience.

D 20 July 2012    AWolfgang Wieshaider

Relations between the State and recognised religious communities

The Austrian legal order can be described as being neutral where religion is concerned. Any identification between the State and a religious community is therefore excluded (principle of (...)

The Austrian legal order can be described as being neutral where religion is concerned. Any identification between the State and a religious community is therefore excluded (principle of religious neutrality). The tasks and objectives of the State are exclusively focussed on the secular and earthly domains (principle of secularity).
Religious societies have guarantees that are recognised by law according to Art. 15 of State’s Basic Act on the General Rights of the Citizens of 1867 (while remaining subject to the general laws of the State): joint public religious practice, freedom to arrange and administer its internal affairs, protect its institutions, foundations and funds, establish confessional private schools and religious instruction in state schools.
For religious societies recognised by law, Article 15 of the Basic Law of the State materialises the principle of general equality, which postulates an obligation of equal treatment and prohibits discrimination (principle of parity).

The right to exclusiveness as a principle of the system of law for religious societies in Austria entitles each religious society recognised by law the exclusive right to their designation, to teach their religion and to the exclusive pastoral responsibility for their members.

In Austria, the State and religious societies are equal partners. They acknowledge their respective independence and autonomy. Their relations may be governed, in particular, by contractual agreements.

Legal recognition results in granting the status of a legal personality under public law to religious societies, which entitles them to the position of a publicly registered community (this includes legal capacity). One characteristic of theses communities lies in the accomplishment of public benefit efforts, including, aside from religious efforts, social, community and cultural efforts that are encouraged by the State as they are considered to be in the best interest of the public.

The conditions for this recognition were modified in 2011, following a request by the Federation of Evangelical Congregations to be recognised as a public law corporation. This request was rejected on the grounds that the religious community had not provided evidence of its existence in Austria over at least 20 years, as required by s. 11(1)1 of Confessional Communities Act. However, the Constitutional Court followed the arguments put forward by the Federation and annulled the provision in question (VfGH 25.9.2010, G 58/10 etc.; BGBl. I 2010/84). Lawmakers responded by passing an amendment to the law (BGBl. I 2011/78).
For a faith community to be recognised in law, it must now meet the following conditions in accordance with s. 11(1), as amended:
a) to have existed in Austria for 20 years, including 10 years with legal status and at least 5 years as a registered faith community;
b) or, in respect to its organisation and doctrine, be linked to a religious society that is active internationally and has existed for at least 100 years and been active in Austria for at least 10 years;
c) or, in respect to its organisation and doctrine, be linked to a religious society active internationally that has existed for at least 200 years;
d) and have member numbers equivalent to two per thousand of the Austrian population.
According to s. 11 (2)-(4), revenues and assets can solely be used for religious purposes, the community must have a positive attitude towards the state and relations with other religious communities should not be perturbed.
Furthermore, s. 11a on revoking recognition has been added; this must take place:

- if one of the conditions listed in s. 11 (2)-(4) is no longer met;
- if the community has had no representative bodies for over a year;
- if grounds for refusing recognition exist according to s. 5, despite a request having been made to rectify this;
- if conduct persists that is contrary to the statute, despite a request having been made to rectify this;
- if the obligations linked to recognition are not fulfilled, despite a request having been made to rectify this.

The relations between the State and religious societies were governed, with regard to the Catholic Church, by the Concordat of 1933 as well as by a certain number of other laws that govern the relations between Austria and the Holy See in a variety of domains.
Other regulations exist for the Lutheran and Reformed Church in the legal framework of 1961, the Orthodox Church in the legal framework of 1967 regarding the Orthodox Churches, Jewish Communities in the legal framework of 1890 in the legal framework of 1890 and Muslims in the legal framework of 1912.
The relations with other recognised religious societies are governed by the Act concerning the Regognition of Religious Societies of 1874 and by the 2003 legal framework regarding Eastern Orthodox Churches.

See also: POTZ Richard, "État et Églises en Autriche",in ROBBERS Gerhard (ed.), État et Églises dans l’Union européenne, 2e éd., Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2008, p. 417-448.

D 1 December 2014    AWolfgang Wieshaider

Religious confessional communities registered by the State

State law on religion developed remarkably in 1998 as a result of the Confessional Communities Act. This law ensures a more simplified way of acquiring legal personality status (special) for (...)

State law on religion developed remarkably in 1998 as a result of the Confessional Communities Act. This law ensures a more simplified way of acquiring legal personality status (special) for confessional communities. Confessional communities possessing legal personality status according to this law are entitled to be called “confessional communities recognised by the State”. After 20 years of existence – including at least ten years with a legal status and at least five years as registered confessional community – legal recognition can be granted, provided all the required conditions are met.
Although religious confessional communities registered by the State do not benefit from the above-mentioned special accommodations for religious societies, it should be underlined in this context that in Austria everyone is entitled to exercise their freedom of belief and conscience, regardless of whether a religious community is legally recognised or whether it has the status of a registered religious confessional community. All religious communities in Austria are specially protected. The denigration of religious doctrines and the disruption of religious worship are factors that constitute an offence. Places of worship as well as objects used in worship are also extremely protected under criminal law when it comes to theft and property damage.

(Source : Federal Press Service and the Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Culture, Religions Office).

D 1 December 2014    AWolfgang Wieshaider

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

2002-2019 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Autriche > Droit et religion > Présentation générale

Présentation générale

Liberté religieuse

La liberté religieuse est garantie par la loi en Autriche ; les sources de droit ont été créées au fil des siècles – sur la base de l’Edit de tolérance de 1781. Un élément tout à fait essentiel pour (...)

La liberté religieuse est garantie par la loi en Autriche ; les sources de droit ont été créées au fil des siècles – sur la base de l’Edit de tolérance de 1781. Un élément tout à fait essentiel pour l’individu est la garantie constitutionnelle de la liberté de croyance et de conscience par l’article 14 de la Loi fondamentale de l’Etat de 1867.
Celui-ci garantit de pair avec la Loi sur l’interconfessionnalité de 1868 la liberté de chaque personne résidant en Autriche de choisir librement son appartenance à une communauté religieuse, de pouvoir la quitter et enfin de n’être tenu d’appartenir à aucune d’elles. Le droit fondamental à la liberté religieuse fut défini et précisé plus encore par l’article 63 al. 2 du Traite d’Etat de Saint-Germain de 1919 ainsi que par l’article 9 de la Convention européenne des droits de l’homme de 1950, qui furent inclus dans l’ordre constitutionnel.

La notion de liberté religieuse englobe la liberté de croyance (droit de choisir sa croyance), la liberté du culte (droit de célébrer le culte), la liberté de profession (droit de professer sa foi à l’extérieur du culte) ainsi que la liberté de conscience.

20 juillet 2012

Les relations entre l’Etat et les communautés religieuses reconnues

On peut qualifier l’ordre juridique autrichien comme étant neutre au niveau religieux. Une identification de l’Etat avec une communauté religieuse déterminée est de ce fait exclue (principe de la (...)

On peut qualifier l’ordre juridique autrichien comme étant neutre au niveau religieux. Une identification de l’Etat avec une communauté religieuse déterminée est de ce fait exclue (principe de la neutralité religieuse). Les activités et les objectifs de l’Etat sont exclusivement orientés sur le domaine séculier et terrestre (principe de la sécularité).
Les garanties reconnues aux sociétés religieuses par la loi sont assurées aux termes de l’article 15 de la Loi fondamentale de l’Etat de 1867 (tout en retenant l’assujettissement aux lois générales de l’Etat) : exercice public et collectif du culte, liberté de régler et d’administrer leurs affaires "intérieures", protection de leurs établissements, fondations et fonds ; établissement d’écoles privées confessionnelles ainsi que dispense de l’enseignement religieux dans les écoles publiques.
L’article 15 de la Loi fondamentale de l’Etat concrétise pour les sociétés religieuses reconnues par la loi le principe général d’égalité, qui postule une obligation d’égalité de traitement et une interdiction de discrimination (principe de la parité).

Le droit d’exclusivité en tant que principe du régime juridique des sociétés religieuses au sein de l’Etat autrichien garantit à chaque société religieuse reconnue par la loi le droit exclusif à son nom et à l’enseignement de sa religion ainsi qu’à l’activité pastorale auprès de ses membres.

L’Etat et les sociétés religieuses sont en Autriche des partenaires situés sur un pied d’égalité. Ils reconnaissent leur indépendance et leur autonomie respectives. Leurs relations peuvent être régies notamment par des arrangements contractuels.

La reconnaissance par la loi a pour effet l’octroi du statut de personnalité morale de droit public à une société religieuse, ce qui lui confère la position d’une collectivité de droit public (y compris la capacité civile). Une caractéristique de ces collectivités réside dans l’exécution de tâches d’intérêt public ; on entend par là, outre des tâches religieuses, des tâches sociales, sociétales, culturelles, dont l’Etat encourage la réalisation parce qu’elles sont considérées comme allant dans le sens du bien public.
Les conditions de cette reconnaissance ont été modifiées en 2011, suite à la demande de la Fédération des congrégations évangéliques à être reconnue comme corporation de droit public. Cette demande fut rejetée au motif que la communauté religieuse n’attestait pas de son existence en Autriche pendant 20 ans au moins, comme l’exige le § 11 (1) 1 de la loi sur les communautés confessionnelles. La Cour constitutionnelle a suivi cependant l’argumentation de la Fédération et a annulé la disposition concernée (VfGH 25. 9. 2010, G 58/10 etc. ; BGBl. I 2010/84). Le législateur a riposté en votant une modification de la loi.
Pour qu’une communauté confessionnelle puisse être légalement reconnue, elle doit désormais remplir les conditions suivantes, selon le § 11 (1) modifié :
a) avoir existé en Autriche pendant 20 ans, dont 10 ans avec un statut juridique et au moins 5 ans comme communauté confessionnelle enregistrée ;
b) ou, en ce qui concerne l’organisation et la doctrine, être liée à une société religieuse active au niveau international qui existe depuis au moins 100 ans et est active en Autriche depuis au moins 10 ans ;
c) ou, en ce qui concerne l’organisation et la doctrine, être liée à une société religieuse active au niveau international qui existe depuis au moins 200 ans ;
d) et disposer d’un nombre d’adhérents équivalent à 2 pour mille de la population autrichienne.

Selon le § 11 (2) à (4), les revenues et les biens ne peuvent être utilisés que pour des buts religieux ; la communauté doit avoir une attitude positive vis-à-vis de l’État ; les relations avec les autres communautés religieuses ne doivent pas être perturbées.

Un § 11a a été en outre inséré, relatif à l’abrogation de la reconnaissance qui doit intervenir :

- si une des conditions énumérées au § 11 (2) à (4) n’est plus remplie :
- si la communauté ne dispose plus d’organes représentatifs pendant au moins un an ;
- si persiste un motif de refus de la reconnaissance selon le § 5, malgré la demande faite d’y remédier ;
- si persiste un comportement contraire au statut, malgré la demande faite d’y remédier ;
- si les obligations liées à la reconnaissance ne sont pas remplies, malgré la demande faite d’y remédier.

Les rapports entre l’Etat et les sociétés religieuses sont régi pour l’Eglise catholique par le Concordat de 1933 ainsi que par un certain nombre d’autres lois qui règlent les relations entre l’Etat autrichien et le Saint-Siège dans différents domaines.
D’autres réglementations existent à l’égard de l’Eglise luthérienne et réformée, à l’égard des Eglises orthodoxes avec la Loi sur les orthodoxes de 1967, à l’égard des communautés juives avec la Loi de 1890 et à l’égard des musulmans avec la loi de 1912.
Les rapports avec les autres sociétés religieuses reconnues par la loi sont régis par la loi de reconnaissance légale des sociétés religieuses de 1874 ainsi que par la loi sur les Eglises orientales orthodoxes de 2003.

Voir aussi : POTZ Richard, "État et Églises en Autriche",in ROBBERS Gerhard (ed.), État et Églises dans l’Union européenne, 2e éd., Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2008, p. 417-448.

1er décembre 2014

Les communautés confessionnelles enregistrées par l’Etat

Le droit étatique des religions a connu un développement remarquable en 1998 à travers la loi sur les communautés confessionnelles religieuses. Cette loi assure l’acquisition simplifiée de la (...)

Le droit étatique des religions a connu un développement remarquable en 1998 à travers la loi sur les communautés confessionnelles religieuses. Cette loi assure l’acquisition simplifiée de la personnalité morale (spécifique) pour les communautés confessionnelles. Les communautés confessionnelles ayant une personnalité morale aux termes de cette loi ont le droit d’être qualifiées de "communauté confessionnelle enregistrée par l’Etat". Au bout de vingt ans d’existence – dont au moins dix ans avec un statut juridique et au moins cinq ans comme communauté confessionnelle enregistrée –, une reconnaissance par la loi peut ensuite être prononcée pourvu que les exigences requises soient remplies.

Bien qu’elles ne profitent pas – en tant que communautés confessionnelles enregistrées par l’Etat – des accommodations particulières décrites ci-dessus pour les sociétés religieuses, il convient de souligner qu’en Autriche, l’exercice de la liberté de croyance et de conscience est assuré à tout un chacun, qu’une communauté religieuse soit reconnue par la loi ou pas ou qu’elle existe en tant que communauté confessionnelle enregistrée. Toutes les communautés religieuses existant en Autriche jouissent d’une protection particulière, le dénigrement de doctrines religieuses et la perturbation de l’exercice d’un culte sont des éléments constitutifs d’infraction, les locaux et objets destines au culte jouissent d’une protection accrue aux termes du droit pénal en matière de vol et de dommages matériels.

(Source : Service de presse fédéral et Ministère fédéral de l’Education, des Sciences et de la Culture, Office des Cultes).

1er décembre 2014