eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Canada » Religions and society » Religions and schooling

Religions and schooling

Religion and Education in Contemporary Canada

Today, some provinces offer only secular education, some have removed confessional religious classes from public education altogether, while others retain hybrid approaches. The province of (...)

Today, some provinces offer only secular education, some have removed confessional religious classes from public education altogether, while others retain hybrid approaches. The province of Ontario, for example, continues to operate publicly funded parallel systems, extending full support to both secular and to separate, confessional Roman Catholic primary and secondary schools. Culminating a multi-decade process of secularization, the province of Québec removed its Catholic and Protestant religious instruction from public education and instituted the Ethics and Religious Culture Program in 2008. This program reflects a religious literacy approach to teaching about religion and is obligatory for all primary and secondary students in the province. Although some schools in other provinces also offer non-confessional, religious literacy courses as electives, there is no national religious literacy curriculum. Throughout Canada, private religious educational institutions commonly referred to as independent schools provide a range of choices such as Christian, Islamic, and Jewish education, among others. Similarly, a very small percentage of Canadian parents opt to home-school their children, often drawing upon particular religious traditions for curricular content. An emphasis on parental choice with regard to secular or religious schooling has historically been a mainstay of the educational landscape. The Canadian government, however, largely ignored the parental agency of Canada’s Indigenous peoples throughout much of the country’s history. The 2015 release of the Truth and Reconciliation Report is a comprehensive account of Canada’s residential school system, its tragic legacy and its ongoing impact on Aboriginal families. The report’s 94 Calls to Action signal what may come to be recognized as a watershed moment for historical and contemporary discussions of religion, education and public policy in Canada.

D 20 June 2017    AChristine L. Cusack

Education in Canada, a specific context

Provincial Oversight
The intersections of religion and education must be understood in context. Unlike many other western democracies, there is no national ministry of Education in Canada. (...)

Provincial Oversight

The intersections of religion and education must be understood in context. Unlike many other western democracies, there is no national ministry of Education in Canada. Individual provinces and territories oversee the delivery of education in their respective jurisdictions. Thus, variation in how religion is approached in Canadian classrooms is a reflection of both historical and contemporary concerns about linguistic, cultural, and religious diversity. There is a high degree of variability from province to province. Divergent state funding structures operate at the core of this variability, with some provinces extending varying levels of support to both public and private confessional institutions.

Historical Context

Understanding the current situation requires a retrospective look to nineteenth-century constitutional agreements crafted in response to the religious composition of the population during that time period. Section 93 of Canada’s Constitution Act of 1867 established a parallel system of confessional and secular schools in some provinces, wherein Catholic and Protestant institutions were guaranteed public support. This system of separate schools operated alongside publicly funded non-religious institutions.

D 20 June 2017    AChristine L. Cusack

Religion, Education and Public Policy

The scholarly study of religion and education in Canada is an expansive, interdisciplinary area encompassing a range of foci such as confessional instruction, the relationship of church and (...)

The scholarly study of religion and education in Canada is an expansive, interdisciplinary area encompassing a range of foci such as confessional instruction, the relationship of church and state, teacher training, curricular content and matters related to teaching about religion as an academic subject. Likewise, a multitude of Canadian Supreme Court decisions have shaped and continue to reshape public policy around the complexities of religion and education in this multicultural country. These cases have dealt with a range of issues such as religious freedom, parental agency, discrimination, public funding, and broad questions related to the nation’s evolving landscape of religious diversity. For example, in the landmark case of Multani v. Commission scolaire Marguerite-Bourgeoys (2006), the refusal of a Sikh student’s request to wear a kirpan at public school was declared to be an infringement of religious freedom. In S.L. v. Commission scolaire des Chênes (2012), Québec’s compulsory Ethics and Religious Culture Program was at the center of a challenge brought by parents who sought to exempt their children from the course. The Court denied the exemption request on the basis that learning about religious diversity neither harmed students nor infringed upon the religious freedom of parents or children. The anti-Semitic writings of a public school teacher in Ross v. New Brunswick School District No. 15 (1996), brought attention to the issue of religious discrimination and resulted in the removal of the teacher from his classroom. In another key case, appellants from minority religious traditions in Adler v. Ontario (1996) unsuccessfully challenged the constitutionality of exclusive public funding for Roman Catholic schools in Ontario. While this list is not exhaustive, it does demonstrate the scope of legal challenges pertaining to religion and education that have reached Canada’s highest court.

D 20 June 2017    AChristine L. Cusack

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Canada > Religion et société > Ecole et religion

Ecole et religion

Religion et éducation dans le Canada contemporain

Aujourd’hui, certaines provinces offrent uniquement une éducation séculière, certaines ont totalement supprimé les enseignements religieux de l’éducation publique, tandis que d’autres ont maintenu des (...)

Aujourd’hui, certaines provinces offrent uniquement une éducation séculière, certaines ont totalement supprimé les enseignements religieux de l’éducation publique, tandis que d’autres ont maintenu des approches mixtes. La province de l’Ontario, par exemple, a toujours des systèmes parallèles financés par des fonds publics, avec des financements complets accordés à la fois aux écoles séculières et aux écoles séparées catholiques primaires et secondaires. Moment culminant de plusieurs décennies de sécularisation, la province de Québec a supprimé l’instruction religieuse catholique ou protestante de l’enseignement public et a créé le programme Éthique et culture religieuse en 2008. Ce programme reflète une approche en termes de connaissance des religions (religious literacy) pour l’enseignement au sujet de la religion, et est obligatoire pour tous les élèves du primaire et du secondaire dans la province. Bien que certaines écoles dans d’autres provinces offrent également des cours optionnels de connaissance des religions (religious literacy), il n’y a pas de programme national en la matière. Dans l’ensemble du Canada les établissements d’enseignement privés confessionnels, communément désignés par le terme d’établissements indépendants, offrent un éventail de choix comprenant l’éducation chrétienne, musulmane ou juive, parmi d’autres. De même, un très faible pourcentage de parents font le choix de l’école à la maison pour leurs enfants, éducation souvent motivée par un contenu d’enseignement fondé sur des traditions religieuses particulières. L’importance accordée au choix des parents à l’égard de l’école séculière ou confessionnelle a toujours été un pilier du paysage éducatif. Le gouvernement canadien, toutefois, a largement ignoré les organismes parentaux des peuples autochtones du Canada au cours d’une grande part de l’histoire du pays. La publication en 2015 du rapport Vérité et Réconciliation est un compte rendu exhaustif du système des pensionnats scolaires canadiens, de son héritage tragique et de son impact toujours actif sur les familles autochtones. Dans ce rapport, l’appel à l’action n°94 indique ce qui pourrait être reconnu comme un tournant pour les questions historiques et contemporaines sur la religion, l’éducation et les politiques publiques au Canada.

20 juin 2017

L’éducation au Canada, un contexte spécifique

L’éducation, une compétence provinciale
Les croisements entre religion et éducation doivent être saisis dans leur contexte. Contrairement à beaucoup d’autres démocraties occidentales, il n’y a pas de (...)

L’éducation, une compétence provinciale

Les croisements entre religion et éducation doivent être saisis dans leur contexte. Contrairement à beaucoup d’autres démocraties occidentales, il n’y a pas de ministère national de l’éducation au Canada. Chacun des territoires et provinces, dans sa juridiction, est compétent en matière d’éducation. Ainsi, la variété des approches de la religion dans les classes des écoles canadiennes est un reflet à la fois des héritages historiques et des interrogations contemporaines sur la diversité linguistique, culturelle et religieuse. Les provinces et territoires présentent des situations particulièrement disparates. Ces variations sont d’abord celles des structures de financement public, certaines provinces permettant à des degrés divers les subventions aux institutions confessionnelles publiques et privées.

Contexte historique

Saisir la situation actuelle suppose de prendre en compte les accords constitutionnels du 19e siècle, forgés en réponse à la diversité religieuse de la population à cette période. L’article 93 de la loi constitutionnelle canadienne de 1867 établit un système parallèle d’écoles confessionnelles et séculières dans certaines provinces, où les institutions catholiques et protestantes se sont vu garantir un financement public. Ce système d’écoles séparées fonctionnait parallèlement aux institutions séculières financées sur fonds publics.

20 juin 2017

Religion, éducation et politiques publiques

L’étude scientifique de la religion et de l’éducation au Canada est un champ interdisciplinaire en croissance comprenant un éventail de sujets tels que l’enseignement religieux, les relations entre (...)

L’étude scientifique de la religion et de l’éducation au Canada est un champ interdisciplinaire en croissance comprenant un éventail de sujets tels que l’enseignement religieux, les relations entre Église et État, la formation des enseignants, le contenu des programmes et les questions liées à l’enseignement au sujet de la religion comme objet d’étude. De la même manière, nombre de jugements de la Cour Suprême du Canada ont façonné et continuent de remodeler les politiques publiques autour des enjeux complexes de la religion et de l’éducation dans ce pays multiculturel. Ces jugements ont porté sur des sujets aussi divers que la liberté de religion, les associations parentales, les discriminations, le financement public, ainsi que sur des questions plus larges liées au paysage évolutif de la diversité religieuse au sein de la nation. Par exemple, dans le jugement historique Multani c. Commission scolaire Marguerite-Bourgeoys (2006), le refus qu’un élève sikh porte un kirpan à l’école publique a été déclaré une violation de la liberté religieuse. Dans le cas SL c. Commission scolaire des Chênes (2012), le programme québécois obligatoire d’éthique et de culture religieuse a été remis en cause par des parents cherchant à exempter leurs enfants de ce programme. La Cour a rejeté cette demande d’exemption au motif que l’apprentissage de la diversité religieuse ne lésait pas les élèves, et ne portait pas non plus atteinte à la liberté de religion des parents ou des enfants. Les écrits antisémites d’un professeur d’école publique dans Ross c. Conseil scolaire du disctrict n°15 du Nouveau Brunswick (1996) ont attiré l’attention sur la question de la discrimination religieuse, et ont abouti au retrait de l’enseignant de sa classe. Dans une autre affaire clé, Adler c. Ontario (1996), les requérants, issus de traditions religieuses minoritaires, ont contesté sans succès la constitutionnalité du financement public exclusif des écoles catholiques de l’Ontario. Bien que cette liste ne soit pas exhaustive, elle met en évidence l’éventail des défis juridiques sur l’éducation et la religion qui sont parvenus jusqu’à la plus haute instance juridique canadienne.

20 juin 2017