eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Germany » Religions and society » Religions and social welfare

Religions and social welfare

Charity confessional organisations

Traditionally, a large part of the social action in Germany is carried out by ecclesiastical organisations, the Catholic Caritas and the Lutherian Diakonisches Werk being the most important ones. (...)

Traditionally, a large part of the social action in Germany is carried out by ecclesiastical organisations, the Catholic Caritas and the Lutherian Diakonisches Werk being the most important ones. The Jewish community also has its own organisations of social action such as the Central office of Jewish charity in Germany (Zentralwohlfahrtsstelle der Juden in Deutschland, ZWST).
Therefore, a lot of German social establishments such as hospitals, child care centres, infant schools, rest homes, establishments for the disabled are under the authority of the Church or of an ecclesiastical organisation and benefit at the same time from State support. Whereas generally this State-Church relation is not questioned, it becomes “debatable” when members of a particular religious community get fewer places in social establishments than others and this in spite of the fact that they benefit from State support. Besides, a lot of jobs in the social field are exclusively open to the members of the two biggest Churches, which can cause de facto discrimination for people who do not belong to these Churches when applying for a job in this field

D 20 July 2012    AMatthias Koenig AMiriam Schader

Youth management and voluntary work

The Catholic and Lutheran Churches are very active in youth management outside schools in Germany. The Catholic Youth Union (Bund der katholischen Jugend, BDKJ), the Protestant Youth (...)

The Catholic and Lutheran Churches are very active in youth management outside schools in Germany. The Catholic Youth Union (Bund der katholischen Jugend, BDKJ), the Protestant Youth (Evangelische Jugend) and their member organisations as well as Muslim and Jewish organisations are involved in sport associations and other extracurriculum activities, scout and guide activities, holiday activities and so on. They also integrate the youth as well as children into their religious communities as choir singers or servants or by preparing them to rites of passage (communion, confirmation, bar/bat mitzvah).
Christian organisations also offer a great number of places for young conscientious objectors completing their substitution service in one of their institutions as well as places for the youth working for one year as voluntary social workers in Germany or abroad (voluntary social year/Freiwilliges Soziales Jahr, FSJ; Time Missionar/Missionar auf Zeit, MAZ).

D 20 July 2012    AMatthias Koenig AMiriam Schader

Christian trade-unions

Christian trade-unions, which were created as an alternative to socialist trade-unions, have been working in favour of employee rights since the end of the 19th century. The major part of those (...)

Christian trade-unions, which were created as an alternative to socialist trade-unions, have been working in favour of employee rights since the end of the 19th century. The major part of those Catholic organisations was mostly present within the Catholic working-class, although there were also some Protestant trade-unions. Suppressed by the Nazis or forced to work for the unique national socialist German Labour Front (Deutsche Arbeitsfront), Christian trade-unions reformed after the creation of the RFA in 1949. In the RDA, independent trade-unions were not accepted. Their confederation (Christlicher Gewerkschaftsbund Deutschlands, CGD) is currently composed of 16 trade-unions and has around 300 000 members.

D 20 July 2012    AMatthias Koenig AMiriam Schader

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Allemagne > Religion et société > Action sociale et religion

Action sociale et religion

Organismes confessionnels de bienfaisance

Traditionnellement, une grande part du travail social en Allemagne est effectué par des organisations ecclésiastiques ; la Caritas catholique et le Diakonisches Werk luthérien étant les plus (...)

Traditionnellement, une grande part du travail social en Allemagne est effectué par des organisations ecclésiastiques ; la Caritas catholique et le Diakonisches Werk luthérien étant les plus importantes. La communauté juive dispose également de son propre organisme d’action sociale, le Bureau central de bienfaisance des Juifs en Allemagne (Zentralwohlfahrtsstelle der Juden in Deutschland, ZWST).

Par conséquent, une partie non négligeable des établissements sociaux allemands (hôpitaux, crèches, écoles maternelles, maisons de retraite, foyers pour handicapés etc.) sont sous l’autorité de l’Église ou d’une organisation ecclésiastique, tout en recevant de (co-)financement public. Alors que cette liaison Églises-État n’est généralement pas mise en cause, elle devient contestable lorsqu’elle mène à une restriction des places dans des établissements sociaux aux membres d’une communauté religieuse particulière malgré leur (co-)financement par l’État. De plus, bien d’emplois dans le domaine social ne sont ouverts qu’aux membres des deux grandes Églises chrétiennes, ce qui peut constituer une discrimination de facto des non membres sur le marché de travail dans ce secteur.

20 juillet 2012

Encadrement de la jeunesse et bénévolat

Dans l’encadrement de la jeunesse hors de l’enseignement scolaire, les Eglises catholique et luthérienne ainsi que d’autres communautés chrétiennes et juives sont traditionnellement fortes en (...)

Dans l’encadrement de la jeunesse hors de l’enseignement scolaire, les Eglises catholique et luthérienne ainsi que d’autres communautés chrétiennes et juives sont traditionnellement fortes en Allemagne. L’Union de la jeunesse catholique (Bund der katholischen Jugend, BDKJ), la Jeunesse protestante (Evangelische Jugend) et leurs organisations membres ainsi que des organisations musulmanes et juives s’engagent dans l’animation d’associations sportives et autres groupes extrascolaires, des scouts et guides, d’activités de vacances etc. S’ajoute à cela l’intégration des jeunes et enfants dans leur communauté religieuse en tant que choristes et servants ou par l’enseignement préparatoire aux rites de passages (communion, confirmation, bar/bat mitzvah etc.).
Les organismes chrétiens offrent également un grand nombre de placements pour jeunes objecteurs de consciences effectuant leur service de substitution dans une de leurs institutions ainsi que des placements pour jeunes bénévoles qui font une année de service social en Allemagne ou à l’étranger (Année sociale volontaire / Freiwilliges Soziales Jahr, FSJ ; Missionnaire temporel / Missionar auf Zeit, MAZ).

20 juillet 2012

Syndicats chrétiens

Fondés pour proposer une alternative aux syndicats socialistes, les syndicats chrétiens militent depuis la fin du XIXe siècle pour les droits des salariés. Dans leur grande majorité, ces organismes (...)

Fondés pour proposer une alternative aux syndicats socialistes, les syndicats chrétiens militent depuis la fin du XIXe siècle pour les droits des salariés. Dans leur grande majorité, ces organismes catholiques étaient surtout ancrés dans le milieu ouvrier catholique, bien qu’il y ait eu quelques syndicats protestants. Supprimés par les nazis ou bien contraints à s’intégrer dans le syndicat unique national-socialiste Front allemand du travail (Deutsche Arbeitsfront), les syndicats chrétiens se sont reformés après la fondation de la RFA en 1949 ; en RDA, les syndicats indépendants n’étaient pas tolérés. Leur confédération (Christlicher Gewerkschaftsbund Deutschlands, CGD) se compose aujourd’hui de seize syndicats comptant quelques 300 000 membres.

20 juillet 2012