eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Romania » Law and religion » General overview » A system of recognised denominations

A system of recognised denominations

In accordance with the Law on Religious Freedom (489/2006) and the Constitution (Article 29), the State guarantees freedom of thought and religion (Articles 1 and 2): “No-one can be obliged to practise a religion which does not respect their convictions”, “Religious freedom also includes freedom of education”, “Children aged 16 can choose their religion themselves".
In accordance with this same Law 489/2006, the status of state-recognised religion (there are currently 18) is granted by government to religious associations which have a significant number of members (≥ 0.1% of the population), which offer guarantees of sustainability (≥ 12 years’ presence on the national territory), of stability and public interest and which do not threaten in the course of their activity public safety, order, health or public morality or fundamental human rights and freedoms (Articles 17 and 18).
The neutrality of the State does not mean indifference but, on the contrary, recognition of the public utility of all recognised faiths, as factors in education and as social and cultural partners (Article 7). The State treats in an equal way all the faiths recognised in law (Article 9), it supports them financially (Article 10) and offers them the possibility of organising religious instruction (Article 18 of the Law on National Education), while taking charge of financial obligations as regards teachers of religion (Article 136 of the Law on the Status of Teaching Personnel).

D 6 August 2015    APetrisor Ghidu

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

2002-2019 eurel - Contact